We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Lots of Issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi 1939-00606, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Special
Ranked #17 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Tacoma, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Lots of Issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for a week on a business trip and had mixed feelings about the hotel. The hotel itself is really lovely and new. The rooms and hotel were nicely decorated, very clean, and modern. Here's the good bad and ugly about the hotel:

The Good:
- Very clean and beautiful hotel
- Food was very good
- Gym was nice
- Workers were very friend and hospitable

The Bad:
- Really annoying to have to get my bags searched every time I came into the hotel. This might be standard hotel procedures for all hotels, but it was really annoying.
- Drinks were quite expensive
- The outdoor lounge and pool were on the top level of the hotel and it was so windy and cold each night that I couldn't even sit out there. It was a waste of a nice space.

The Ugly:
- The shower would go very hot and very cold throughout the shower. I don't understand why this should be happening. It needs fixed.
- I specifically asked if my room had good and constant internet access (it was good in the restaurant and lobby) and they said yes, but it was almost non-existent in my room. My laptop could barely pick it up and it would go in and out, and my phone and iPad couldn't pick it up at all. I asked to be moved to a different room and they said they were completely full (I find that unlikely). This is the main reason I wouldn't stay here again.
- The roof bar was so loud that I could hear it on my second floor room. It was on the 7th floor so its incredible to me that it would be that loud. It kept me up multiple nights. Another reason why I wouldn't stay here again.

Overall this hotel is a case of a place that could really fantastic but falls short in so many areas. Kenya has some nice hotels and it shouldn't deal with the issues that it does. I'm staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on TripAdvisor among many other online review sites.

We once again apologise for the shortcomings you experienced durin your stay with us. As we indicated to you earlier, corrective action was taken in all the areas you pointed out. We again invite you to come and stay with us to experience the improvements your comments have made.

The water in the showers have been fixed, the internet access is perfect and the loud music at the roof top bar stopped.
Due to our strict security procedures we ensure, as a standard, that all luggage brought in is searched. Most guests understand and appreciate this measure and we hope you will in your next visit.
The beverage prices in our roof top bar are slightly higher than on those at Pablos restaurant. So a guest has a choice depending on what ambience he is after. The roof top lounge area has heaters that keep guests warm as they admire the view of Nairobi from that vantage point. Please visit it again and confirm this.

Thank you very much.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
25
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Premier for three nights and we were impressed. The building is very new and modern, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. In addition, there is a restaurant (Pablo's) and a bar (Level). The food is pretty good but the alcoholic beverages are overpriced at the bar compared to other hotels and locations in Nairobi. There was really only two minor issues during our stay. This included the hot water; which would fluctuate from very hot to very cold every 30 seconds or so. In addition, on Friday night the music from up-top was very loud and was problematic for sleeping (however, they did turn it off). The sleep quality is pretty good, the beds are comfortable and the rooms have air conditioning. There is also good wifi, something I struggle to find in Kenya. The rates also include breakfast at the restaurant and it's pretty good. The rates are fairly priced, about 160 USD per night. In total, the Best Western Premier was an enjoyable stay and I would stay there again if in Nairobi. Also, Hurlingham is a convenient location because it's outside of the hectic Nairobi city center but not incredibly far away from things (airport, Karen, downtown, etc...).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you very much for staying with us and following it up with your online review. We are delighted you did enjoy your stay despite the issues you raised about the hot water as well as the loud music. Both cases were sorted on the same weekend you stayed with us and we no longer have the same issues.

Yes, we have very good wifi and a pretty good and convenient location too.

We shall share your compliments with our members of staff.

Please stay with us again as you have promised.

Thank you.

Kind regards,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I am blown away by the problems I encountered with this hotel.

1) The room's shower switches between scalding hot and cold every 3 seconds. Ridiculous for a hotel in this category.
2) The internet in my room was terrible. I could not get any work done. The hotel's WiFi repeaters clearly do not reach rooms on the outside edge of the building.
3) Insanely loud bar noise. I could not sleep both nights (Fri and Sat) because the rooftop bar was blasting house music past midnight. The rooftop bar is on the 7th floor, and my room was on the 2nd - so you can see how loud it had to be to feel it all the way near the ground.

To be fair, the hotel staff was very nice and courteous, but clearly had their hands tied with the above issues because of poor decisions made by the management.

I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review online regarding your experience at our property last weekend.

We also received your handwritten complaints to the hotel's General Manager and sent you a private email regarding the same.

The Valentine weekend was louder than normal at our property and we apologised for this as we always aim at providing quality sleep to all our guests. This surely was a one off situation which will not recur in future given the steps the management has taken.

We also apologise for the problem you had with wifi. Our repeaters are all over the hotel. The case you have reported was an isolated case which we could have resolved if it was brought to our attention. We suspect it could have been another problem not related to the repeaters as we have not received any other complaint from any other guest.

Yes, we had a hot water problem on the night you stayed with us and this was resolved immediately.

We appreciate the positive comments you have about the members of staff. This has already been passed on to them.

Kindly accept the invitation we sent you earlier as we strongly believe you will get a completely different picture of our property. When you visit please get in touh with the management.

Thank you.

Kind regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The rooms are clean and new which is all I usually ask from a hotel. However, there is a strange water issue in the shower - the temperature randomly cycles from way too hot to too cold every 30-60 seconds no matter what temperature you've set the nozzle. That is all bearable, but WARNING: DO NOT STAY HERE ON A THURSDAY, FRIDAY OR SATURDAY NIGHT if you want to get sleep. The walls are thin and the noise from the rooftop dance club is LOUD in the rooms - I was unable to sleep before my early flight on Friday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us. The water issue you have mentioned is an isolated case that only affected the room you used. It has however been sorted out.
We apologise for the noise from our rooftop lounge that denied you valuable sleep this last weekend. We have already set acceptable limits on the volume of music in this lounge and we do not expect a repeat of the problem you underwent.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

New, modern, clean, comfortable beds, stylish rooms, roof top pool and desk and bar/restaurant, well equipped gym on top floor as well.  Two computers and printer in lobby, terrace and restaurant on main floor, buffet breakfast was included although not specified on our booking, Eggs to order, hot and cold items, coffee, tea, juice, pastries.

Check out smooth and accurate.

The hotel arranged taxi to and from the airport ($30 ea way) and to the Sheldrick baby elephants orphanage and then drop off downtown ($40, the driver waits for you at the elephants). Taxi could bill to the room and settled with a VISA.

Room Tip: Give yourself way more time that you would expect to get to the airport. We almost missed checking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review online. We appreciate all the compliments.
We do encourage our guests to leave early for the airport to ensure they have enough time to go through the security checks.
Please stay with us again in future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Best Western was an ideal place for a business traveller. Free wifi in the room, early opening for breakfast, laundry services and at a great price. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the airport but the rooftop restaurant makes for a very enjoyable dinner setting.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you appreciated our property as well as services. Yes, we indeed are very ideal for the business traveller.
Thank you for sharing your experience with the online world. Please visit us again when you plan for a stay in Nairobi.

Thank you and kind regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Did not stay in the hotel as a guest but tried to Join Pablo for lunch on a Sunday. Shocking experience, no at the door, walk by the front desk with out any greeting or what so ever. Waited in front Pablo's for several minutes yet no acknowledgement eventhough there were diners on the terrace. As our presence was clearly not appreciated we left shorly after. On the way out the same thing, no one looked at us nor acknowledged us. All the above is with the exception of the Security Service, but they are an outside company ?!

On a brief note about the hotel - it looks nice, clean modern - but the nicest hotel any good to you without service.

Will try it agian one day, perhaps it was a one off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologise for the poor service you experienced at our property on the Sunday you visited for lunch.
Thank you very much for the review as it clearly points to an area we have to work on as this is certainly not our standard of operation. All concerned have been notified and we do not expect a repeat of the same.
Thank you once more and please feel free to visit again to confirm this has been effected.

Thank you.


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi

Address: Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi 1939-00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Premier Nairobi is located in the suburb of Hurlingham within 10 minutes drive from Nairobi central and 20 km from the Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel features a swimming pool, restaurant and a gym.Each air-conditioned room offers a view of the city and comes equipped with a satellite TV, minibar and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. The private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.The restaurant at Premier Nairobi serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A number of restaurants serving a range of local and international cuisines can be found within 2 km.For relaxation, guests can lounge beside the heated pool or enjoy a round of golf at the Royal Nairobi Golf Club, 3.2 km away.Free Wi-Fi and private parking is available and a business centre including secretarial services is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.