We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an Overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi 1939-00606, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Special
Ranked #17 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Perfect for an Overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were at this hotel for one night pre safari. They arranged our ground transfer from the airport and despite a lengthy time in getting through immigration our driver was waiting for us at about 10:00 pm. No issues at all and upon arrival the hotel was perfect. Clean, up to date and a good buffet breakfast. They also made a few phone calls for us (no charge) to change our pick up time in the morning.

Arriving late at night it was also to have 24 hour room service available as we were able to have a very late dinner. Since it was so late when we arrived I can't really comment on the location except that it was about a 20 minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with the online world.
We are glad you left happy as you found our services seamless.

Please stay with us again in your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
25
10
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for two nights last week and were pleasantly surprised. I'll try to break this down:
Staff:
Front desk extremely pleasant and went out of their way to help with issues I had with my on-line booking (especially Maureen).
Pablo's restaurant staff and roof top bar- not rude... but compared to everywhere else we had been in Kenya - not friendly at all...just seemed disinterested.
Room:
Nicely appointed with slippers, plenty of water, tea kettle, etc. Completely noise proof, very nice bathroom. We had ants in our first room and after some pleading with the front desk - they upgraded us to a lovely suite (my husband is gold so is eligible for upgrades).
Safely:
Large perimeter fence, underside of cars checked with mirrors, trunks opened, and then we were each scanned prior to entering hotel. We felt very safe.

We will definitely stay here when we return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our property and for posting your review online. We welcome all reviews from our guests and appreciate the compliments which have already been passed on to the team. The comments about the restaurant staff have also been noted and will be adequately addressed.
We are especially happy that you found our property well secured and you felt safe.Please stay again with us in your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I visited Pablo's restaurant at the best Western and ordered for the prawns wa nazi . It was very good although the portions were small and they charge an arm and a leg for it. The prawns were delicious though. The very next day I went with my wife as I was hoping for a better experience. I hadn't eaten the whole day so at dinner I asked for two portions of the prawns while my wife had the grilled chicken breast. This time around my prawns were cold and the sauce was not as good as the last time. My wife did not like her chicken breast. I don't think I will be going back due to this. Service is quite poor too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant as well as posting your review online about your experience.
We have clearly noted that you and your wife did not enjoy your meals during your second visit.
We apologise for the inconsistency in the food and this information has been shared with the team in an effort to take corrective measures.

Please visit us again and experience the improved services and meals. Feel free to meet the management who will ensure you get value for money.

Thank you.


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was attending a friend's birthday party at the rooftop and this being my first visit to the hotel I was hoping for and expecting alot better. It wasnt a busy night but the service was horrendous and this is why:
1) we ask for the menu it takes 20 minutes for the waiter to bring one.
2) the waiter finally takes the order and rudely asks for the cash on order (a little courtesy never hurt anybody)
3) after patiently waiting for an hour, following up with 2 other waiters, birthday girl cutting the cake,people eat, chat and start leaving the drink arrives.
4)I tell the waiter that the service is horrible and ask why they are slow, he rudely and sarcastically replies " yeah I know its pathetic yeah its really horrible" as he places the drink on the table and walks off with no apology.
5)a group of white people arrive 10 min prior to me getting the drink and within minutes get their drinks (some ladies having ordered the same as mine)
All in all it was an awful first impression with horrendous service, rude staff, good service only to a preferred race.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We welcome both negative and positive feedback to ensure we improve on any weak areas.
We apologise for the bad experience you had at our roof top restaurant. This is not what we stand for nor advocate. We always strive to give our geusts good value for money which evidently you did not get.
We do not discriminate against any guest that walks through our doors and your review has set us on a thorough investigation to ensure anything of this nature is stamped out.

Please feel free to visit the hotel again and get in touch with the management.

Thank you once more and kind regards,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed at Best Western Nairobi for a short business trip and was delighted at the amenities and customer service Excellent facilities overall esp. Good business venue that impressed my clients
Had an exquisite meal at the rooftop bar with spectacular views of the Nairobi skyline.
A well secured central location with pleasant attentive and helpful staff. Hotel' international standard unquestionable Highly recommendable
Salim

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our property and for taking time off your schedule to post your review online.
We are surely glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our facilities well secured and our members of staff and services of very high international standards. This is our promise always as we focus on providing more than their money's worth.
You are welcome to stay again with us in future.

Thank you and kind regards,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family and I enjoyed several meals and were amazed by the views, the experience and the service. Everything on the menu at the rooftop restaurant was amazing, the Ciroc bar/lounge beats any other lounge in Nairobi (its clean and chic, and the DJ was playing amazing beats). Lastly, we enjoyed coffee and desserts in the cafe on the ground floor on another occasion, and we had a really nice experience. For anyone visiting Nairobi on business or pleasure, I would recommend this hotel - Nairobi can use more places to stay like this!

Room Tip: The hotel has a few suite rooms with a balcony - well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you found the best value for your money in our property. Thank you for sharing your experience with the online world.
Please come again and stay with us when in this part of the world.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Best Western prior and after our Kenya safari. We were very pleased with the hotel. Rooms were nice, hot showers, and Wifi. We also enjoyed breakfast at the hotel. My son went to the gym and said the attendant was very friendly and helpful. Staff was very attentive. We would definitely recommend this hotel for both pleasure and business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your review online. We value all reviews, whether positive or negative, as they drive us towards our major goal.
We have noted the positive comments about your lovely son's experience at our gym. We have already passed on the compliments to the gym instructors.

As you have indicated please recommend us to your contacts for either leisure or business visits.
Remember to stay with us also when in Nairobi.

Thank you.

Kind regards.,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi

Address: Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi 1939-00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Premier Nairobi is located in the suburb of Hurlingham within 10 minutes drive from Nairobi central and 20 km from the Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel features a swimming pool, restaurant and a gym.Each air-conditioned room offers a view of the city and comes equipped with a satellite TV, minibar and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. The private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.The restaurant at Premier Nairobi serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A number of restaurants serving a range of local and international cuisines can be found within 2 km.For relaxation, guests can lounge beside the heated pool or enjoy a round of golf at the Royal Nairobi Golf Club, 3.2 km away.Free Wi-Fi and private parking is available and a business centre including secretarial services is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.