We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing service!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi 1939-00606, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Very disappointing service!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was attending a friend's birthday party at the rooftop and this being my first visit to the hotel I was hoping for and expecting alot better. It wasnt a busy night but the service was horrendous and this is why:
1) we ask for the menu it takes 20 minutes for the waiter to bring one.
2) the waiter finally takes the order and rudely asks for the cash on order (a little courtesy never hurt anybody)
3) after patiently waiting for an hour, following up with 2 other waiters, birthday girl cutting the cake,people eat, chat and start leaving the drink arrives.
4)I tell the waiter that the service is horrible and ask why they are slow, he rudely and sarcastically replies " yeah I know its pathetic yeah its really horrible" as he places the drink on the table and walks off with no apology.
5)a group of white people arrive 10 min prior to me getting the drink and within minutes get their drinks (some ladies having ordered the same as mine)
All in all it was an awful first impression with horrendous service, rude staff, good service only to a preferred race.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We welcome both negative and positive feedback to ensure we improve on any weak areas.
We apologise for the bad experience you had at our roof top restaurant. This is not what we stand for nor advocate. We always strive to give our geusts good value for money which evidently you did not get.
We do not discriminate against any guest that walks through our doors and your review has set us on a thorough investigation to ensure anything of this nature is stamped out.

Please feel free to visit the hotel again and get in touch with the management.

Thank you once more and kind regards,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
22
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed at Best Western Nairobi for a short business trip and was delighted at the amenities and customer service Excellent facilities overall esp. Good business venue that impressed my clients
Had an exquisite meal at the rooftop bar with spectacular views of the Nairobi skyline.
A well secured central location with pleasant attentive and helpful staff. Hotel' international standard unquestionable Highly recommendable
Salim

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our property and for taking time off your schedule to post your review online.
We are surely glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our facilities well secured and our members of staff and services of very high international standards. This is our promise always as we focus on providing more than their money's worth.
You are welcome to stay again with us in future.

Thank you and kind regards,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family and I enjoyed several meals and were amazed by the views, the experience and the service. Everything on the menu at the rooftop restaurant was amazing, the Ciroc bar/lounge beats any other lounge in Nairobi (its clean and chic, and the DJ was playing amazing beats). Lastly, we enjoyed coffee and desserts in the cafe on the ground floor on another occasion, and we had a really nice experience. For anyone visiting Nairobi on business or pleasure, I would recommend this hotel - Nairobi can use more places to stay like this!

Room Tip: The hotel has a few suite rooms with a balcony - well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you found the best value for your money in our property. Thank you for sharing your experience with the online world.
Please come again and stay with us when in this part of the world.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Best Western prior and after our Kenya safari. We were very pleased with the hotel. Rooms were nice, hot showers, and Wifi. We also enjoyed breakfast at the hotel. My son went to the gym and said the attendant was very friendly and helpful. Staff was very attentive. We would definitely recommend this hotel for both pleasure and business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your review online. We value all reviews, whether positive or negative, as they drive us towards our major goal.
We have noted the positive comments about your lovely son's experience at our gym. We have already passed on the compliments to the gym instructors.

As you have indicated please recommend us to your contacts for either leisure or business visits.
Remember to stay with us also when in Nairobi.

Thank you.

Kind regards.,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartringen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Was here for one Night with my wife. We came late (23.00). But we were warmly wellcomed by the staff. We also had friends with us, which were allowed to have a drink on the rooftop bar. Must say great views from there on the nairobi skyline.
The room was very clean, hot shower, all electrical things worked. Breakfast was good and plenty. Staff are pros as u expect them. Price for the room is reasonable for nairobi, except the rooftop bar.
All in all a nice hotel where i will surely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities and services worth your money.
We also appreciate the time you took to share your experience at our property with the online world. We welcome both positive and negative reviews from our guest as they assist us serve our guests even better.
The Ciroc Bar ( at the rooftop) is a beautiful and exclusive lounge with beautiful views of the Nairobi skyline and charges slightly higher but affordable prices.

Please visit us again as you have promised.

Thank you.


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The rooms are lovely and the bar and pool on the seventh floor are a real treat. The restaurant also serves great food!

Wonderful service and hospitality. Prices are also very very reasonable. The security issues facing the country are of course in the mind of every visitor to Nairobi - this hotel takes security very seriously which helped put our minds at ease.

Well worth a visit and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review online about your stay in our property.
We are delighted you found our hotel secure and a real worth for your money.
Please stay with us again in future.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had just spent a week in Diani beach and needed an overnight hotel, saw the hotel advert on the flight magazine, decided we try it out. When we came, the hotel was still under construction, just the finishing touches. The hotel staff did their best to ensure our stay was comfortable regardless of the fact that we were amongst the first few visitors of the hotel. I trust that the breakfast has improved s I did not enjoy it at all. Hoping to stopby again just to check in the improvements on the breakfast side and the much talked about endless pool on the roof. Overall, very good hotel with everything you need to keep in touch while travelling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being among the first guests to stay with us in April 2013 and ensuring you posted it online.
The breakfast is superb and the swimming pool a marvel.
Please stop by as promised when in Nairobi to enjoy our facilities again.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi

Address: Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi 1939-00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Premier Nairobi is located in the suburb of Hurlingham within 10 minutes drive from Nairobi central and 20 km from the Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel features a swimming pool, restaurant and a gym.Each air-conditioned room offers a view of the city and comes equipped with a satellite TV, minibar and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. The private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.The restaurant at Premier Nairobi serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A number of restaurants serving a range of local and international cuisines can be found within 2 km.For relaxation, guests can lounge beside the heated pool or enjoy a round of golf at the Royal Nairobi Golf Club, 3.2 km away.Free Wi-Fi and private parking is available and a business centre including secretarial services is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.