We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and good finger food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Bar and Grill

Tamambo Bar and Grill
Upper Level, Village Market | Gigiri, Nairobi 74493, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
020 7124005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nairobi Central Business District
Description: Tamambo Bar and Grill, is located on the upper level of the Village Market, Gigiri. It has a casual trendy atmosphere and is open from 11.00am for coffees, lunch and dinner. With its varied and interesting menu it is perfect for discerning global tastes, offering a delicious selection of light salads, and snacks as well as appetizing gourmet dishes. The outdoor terrace has an alfresco ambience whereas the indoor cocktail lounge has a more intimate feel reminiscent of a cosy jazz bar Tamambo has become a popular meeting place with the background music setting the overall mood. Regular live bands perform every Friday and Saturdays from 9pm featuring a diverse group of talented musicians.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place and good finger food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I brought here a group of 15 people for work. It was a very pleasant evening, the restaurant is very nice as well as the staff. We got a set menu for 2250 KSH/pax and there was just so much food that I felt guilty for the amount of left-overs. The variety and quality were above average (although not stellar). The food is better at the Tamambo restaurant in Westlands, but it is true that this Tamambo does not claim to be a restaurant but more of a tapas-finger food bar, so it's fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    6
    16
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

nice place. coctails. ok food. and best sheesha!!!! realy good place to visit with a friends. sometimes live musik.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Bar and Grill, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamambo Bar and Grill. We are happy you enjoy the atmosphere, sheesha and cocktails/

We have shared your review with our team, who are encouraged to improve every aspect.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Shocking service, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The atmosphere and ambience at Tamambo is good. The staff simply could not cope with the full house this particular Saturday evening, we even resorted to collecting drinks ourselves from the bar. Food did not arrive together, with gaps of around 10 minutes from the first to the last yet we were only a group of four. We waited around 40 minutes for our main course (after finishing our starters). The food was average at best with stone cold tortilla's and luke warm beef and chicken.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize to you for the poor food and service you experienced at Tamambo on Saturday night.

We place great emphasis on delicious food, quality customer care and great staff attitude at all times and are really sorry that we performed poorly in all these areas on this occasion.

We have thoroughly addressed your complaint with the Tamambo team who will take the necessary corrective measures to ensure this situation does not arise in the future.

We thank you for taking time to review the restaurant and hope that you will kindly accept our apology and give us another opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gals night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Looking for a place to catch up with your gal friend over a niece ambience? This is a really gal friendly place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Tamambo Tapas Bar is enjoyable and the food is nice, the burgers is spesifically good and its well woth the wait.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Bar and Grill also viewed

Been to Tamambo Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.