We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Junction Mall

The Junction Mall
Ngong Road/Riara Rd Junction | Lavington, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 shopping in Nairobi
Type: Malls
Attraction Details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Visited this mall a few times during our visit to Nairobi. A nice variety of shops to keep you busy, plenty of places to eat, lovely cinema as well. Also the Masai Market on a Thursday is an experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything you need under one roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I visit Nairobi 3 times a year on business and always stay near here. Its simply got everything you need. Nakumat has great steak at great prices and every other supermarket need. There's a cinema, ATM's, chemist, nice places to eat and a food court. Clothes shops, gift shops and even places to buy an iPhone charger if you forgot yours. Its secure, friendly and clean and the fresh bread at Art Café is awesome. No hesitation in recommending. If you are looking for a world class shopping experience there are better places, but if you need convenience on your doorstep its great

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“one stop shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is one of the few public places in Nairobi where I felt safe to be at. Relatively large selection of stores (Kikoy is the place to go if you care for inexpensive and good quality locally made cotton clothes), food courts and good restaurants (with free wi-fi) and grocery supermarket - Nakumatt. Casino Royale on the 2nd floor is the best in town. They recently opened an Indian restaurant - Darbar e Tandoor on premises (separate entrance) which turned out very good. Great food and way better service than anywhere else I 've been in Kenya.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Next Best Mall after Westgate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

There are such a number of diverse shops and restaurants available here, one can visit there for almost a week without exhausting options. The cafes and restaurants that stand out are Java, Art Cafe, Subway, KFC, Meditterraneo and of course, Planet Yogurt.

The Nakumatt supermarket is huge too. A good day out for the family

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Masai market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The main reason i went to Junction with friends was because of the masai market.. Masai market was a great place to shop for souvenirs which is a must for all my trips.. there is a lot of room for bargaining but i knew this only because i was there with a friend who lives in Nairobi.. got some very interesting stuff to give as gifts to friends and family..
The colorful masai saddles are a must buy.. many things like soap dishes, tea coasters, small decorative items made of stone with African style painting can be found there as well.. some wooden baskets are also quite interesting.. paintings made with cut leaves look amazing.. got a few my self :).. its here at masai market that one can truly appreciate the creativity of rural African tribes..
Rest of the mall seems okay.. i found a really cool bookshop inside the mall as well (books being my biggest weakness) got a few children books on animals from there.. the mall has a frozen yogurt outlet.. it has a money exchange aswell.. Nakumat is a hypermarket chain in Nairobi and Junction has one too.. it was good and i got some fresh fruits for myself from here :)

Since i was there with some amazing new friends i had made it was a memorable experience on my short visit to Nairobi..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction Mall also viewed

 

Been to The Junction Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Junction Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Junction Mall to your Saves list