We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next Best Mall after Westgate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Junction Mall

The Junction Mall
Ngong Road/Riara Rd Junction | Lavington, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 184 Attractions in Nairobi
Attraction details
nairobi
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Next Best Mall after Westgate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

There are such a number of diverse shops and restaurants available here, one can visit there for almost a week without exhausting options. The cafes and restaurants that stand out are Java, Art Cafe, Subway, KFC, Meditterraneo and of course, Planet Yogurt.

The Nakumatt supermarket is huge too. A good day out for the family

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Masai market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The main reason i went to Junction with friends was because of the masai market.. Masai market was a great place to shop for souvenirs which is a must for all my trips.. there is a lot of room for bargaining but i knew this only because i was there with a friend who lives in Nairobi.. got some very interesting stuff to give as gifts to friends and family..
The colorful masai saddles are a must buy.. many things like soap dishes, tea coasters, small decorative items made of stone with African style painting can be found there as well.. some wooden baskets are also quite interesting.. paintings made with cut leaves look amazing.. got a few my self :).. its here at masai market that one can truly appreciate the creativity of rural African tribes..
Rest of the mall seems okay.. i found a really cool bookshop inside the mall as well (books being my biggest weakness) got a few children books on animals from there.. the mall has a frozen yogurt outlet.. it has a money exchange aswell.. Nakumat is a hypermarket chain in Nairobi and Junction has one too.. it was good and i got some fresh fruits for myself from here :)

Since i was there with some amazing new friends i had made it was a memorable experience on my short visit to Nairobi..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Movie Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Junction movie theatre is great for 2D and 3D movies. They have latest releases in clean cinema with good picture and sound quality. You can take your own snacks and refreshments. I also like the Frozen Yoghurt store in the mall, with several toppings to choose from.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Probably the largest mall in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Again don't expect too much. In Kenya's shopping malls you will only find a handful of shops. A walk around will take you 20 min and you are done, ready to enjoy one of the nice restaurants they feature there. In addition it has a food court and of course a Nakumat grocery store which you'll find in just about every mall. From here you could walk to the next two malls Prestige and YaYa. However as you might know there are no sidewalks in Kenya, so put on your hiking boots lol.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great shopping & good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good shopping in a Mall that is not too big so you can get what you need really quickly - on my last trip I managed to buy a new handbag, get a haircut and grab lunch in under two hours. Some really great Kenyan crafts available - Sandstorm & Annabel Thom for gorgeous handbags, Kazuri beads, a great Nakumat supermarket, really good coffee at Dormans, Mr Price, Bata Shoes, Meditteraneo Restaurant and lots more. Matbronze and the Candle shop now also have stands in the Mall.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction Mall also viewed

 

Been to The Junction Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Junction Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.