We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the Masai market on Thursday - no reason for the mall otherwise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Junction Mall

The Junction Mall
Ngong Road/Riara Rd Junction | Lavington, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
582 reviews 582 reviews
262 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Come for the Masai market on Thursday - no reason for the mall otherwise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

fun place to shop for handicrafts made by the local Masai population. Every Thursday at Junction mall and Tuesday at Westgate mall. Vendors can be aggressive but are mostly good natured and friendly to talk with. Haggling is a requirement. An entertaining dance show is a part of the market.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Its a good place. But not to big. So After a couple of hours The place Gerd boring. Have some different places to eat, thats a good thing. I fins my Self to often in The java House

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The Junction is Convenient,but Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I go to the Junction frequently to meet friends. I also do my shopping at Nakumatt becasue it has an incredible assortment of items. I can walk there as it's only 30 minutes from my apartment. It has a Java House where I meet my friends as well as a Dorman's,and Artcafe. I can also change Traveler's Checks for a very good rate at the Forex. It is very safe,and has excellent security. However,I wouldn't consider it a tourist attraction as it is nothing but another shopping center.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ok for an hour or two”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Another of Nairobi's shopping Malls. Filled with chain brand shops but on the very expensive side, I dare say Londons Oxford Street is cheaper. Has a Nakumatt grocery store and a reasonable foodcourt plus a KFC if your so inclined. Some speciality shops plus a decent book shop by the main entrance. parking costs 20KSh for an hour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Junction Mall, Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Junction is a pleasant place to spend sometime at. It's my favourite of the malls you will find in Nairobi. There is plenty of parking. It always looks busy parking wise, but there is multistory parking as well, which is very safe to use. It has both a Java House & Artcaffe, to spend your time eating & meeting with friends and a nice range of shops. Can get busy trying to access Junction from Nging Road, so try and come in from a different route. I'd recommend coming via James Gichuru Road/Kingara Road.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction Mall also viewed

 

Been to The Junction Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Junction Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.