We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of For You Chinese Restaurant

For You Chinese Restaurant
Corner Gitanga Road/ Ole Dume Road | Entrance Gitanga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have been there several times and i am never disappointed. The starters are okay, the main dish is great, the service is truly warm and i didn't even mention their cocktail juice which is to die for. The prices are reasonable compared to other Chinese restaurants. Love the experience each time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A place that we visit every week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place for sure gives value for the money. The food tastes good and the Children has lot of things to play with while visiting.
We go here almost 2-3 times a month and we keep coming back. Friendly staff and nice food!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and A surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have heard the rave about this restaurant so I decided to treat myself to lunch.

Lets just say I have never had such a quick service, great hostess and the waiter was very friendly and to top it off I got ice cream for free. At first I thought it was a joke but no they were serious and I must say the portions were huge.

Its a place with reasonable prices and great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Go here if you want to be told to "Shut Up" and have cops called on you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The worst restaurant experience ever.

Slow service, we were expected to share one menu between 7 people. Our meals arrived at different stages with rice brought in first and the rest of the food turning up after 30 minutes. When we asked the waiter if this is how they generally ran their business, he just walked off laughing. The manager couldn't be bothered to see us; we had to ask a handful of times before the waiter told us to go see her...talk about being sent to the headmistress's office! She eventually turned up, and decided not to bother with us in the middle of a conversation?!

When we threatened to leave, we were immediately sent a bill with no further interest from the manager. She couldn't be bothered to have a civil conversation when re-confronted about the terrible service and actually shouted at us to shut up in front of all the clientele. It could only get better as there was some VIP with armed escorts at her restaurant and she shouted at them to arrest us stupid people.

Why would you want to go to such a place?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Horrible, Manager told us "Shut Up"!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Definitely not going back! Poor poor service! Drinks came after Mains, wrong orders, Mains came 30mins after Rice served and went cold. Requested for Manager 4-5 times, she (Chinese Manager) came, admitted poor service, ran off. At the end, again admitted poor service, then told us "Shut Up". PoliceOfficers guarding place stated this was common that she treats clients bad! Never Again! If busy, they should warn customers when they come in, not mis-treat and insult!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For You Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to For You Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For You Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.