We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and A surprise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of For You Chinese Restaurant

For You Chinese Restaurant
Corner Gitanga Road/ Ole Dume Road | Entrance Gitanga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 322 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and A surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have heard the rave about this restaurant so I decided to treat myself to lunch.

Lets just say I have never had such a quick service, great hostess and the waiter was very friendly and to top it off I got ice cream for free. At first I thought it was a joke but no they were serious and I must say the portions were huge.

Its a place with reasonable prices and great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Go here if you want to be told to "Shut Up" and have cops called on you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The worst restaurant experience ever.

Slow service, we were expected to share one menu between 7 people. Our meals arrived at different stages with rice brought in first and the rest of the food turning up after 30 minutes. When we asked the waiter if this is how they generally ran their business, he just walked off laughing. The manager couldn't be bothered to see us; we had to ask a handful of times before the waiter told us to go see her...talk about being sent to the headmistress's office! She eventually turned up, and decided not to bother with us in the middle of a conversation?!

When we threatened to leave, we were immediately sent a bill with no further interest from the manager. She couldn't be bothered to have a civil conversation when re-confronted about the terrible service and actually shouted at us to shut up in front of all the clientele. It could only get better as there was some VIP with armed escorts at her restaurant and she shouted at them to arrest us stupid people.

Why would you want to go to such a place?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Horrible, Manager told us "Shut Up"!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Definitely not going back! Poor poor service! Drinks came after Mains, wrong orders, Mains came 30mins after Rice served and went cold. Requested for Manager 4-5 times, she (Chinese Manager) came, admitted poor service, ran off. At the end, again admitted poor service, then told us "Shut Up". PoliceOfficers guarding place stated this was common that she treats clients bad! Never Again! If busy, they should warn customers when they come in, not mis-treat and insult!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Went there on valentines.Super crowded but managed to get a dirty table.Waited for an hour to get served and on complaining to the chief waiter catherine, she went back to her corner to gossip us with her fellow colleagues.We called another waiter collins and told him we had waited for over an hour upon which he told us to cooperate and order.The clincher was when we complained to the chinese manager who did not even look up because she was busy counting money.Horrid place!Horrid service!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have eaten here severally for business, parties and ordinary take away. Good food which is prepared fast. Fair prices. Staff are ok and the owner is always around to ask if you are ok. Nice cheap take away gifts that the kids always enjoy. Good even for a quick business lunch.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For You Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to For You Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For You Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.