We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad day for us!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of For You Chinese Restaurant

For You Chinese Restaurant
Corner Gitanga Road/ Ole Dume Road | Entrance Gitanga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bad day for us!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Total disappointment...we went over to celebrate a birthday... at the entrance the watchman said parking is full go away..then we asked him if we could park in the open parking opposite the restaurant and he says that's your problem..do whatever you want... as we go in we make a special request at reception " please don't send a bill on our table as we have guests hence let me know when bill is ready i will come and clear here" ... THEY GAVE THE BILL TO THE GUEST...warm hand towels were picked up from the table almost 20 mins later... they brought some else's food on our table and serving drinks took ages..... No doubt they are a good pocket friendly restaurant and they do serve good meals....but i feel they cant handle big groups.. at the end when we ask for a discount .." the person in-charge is not there so we cant help you" the staff were not rude but they were not organized at all.. of all my lovely visits there ..i never thought celebrating a birthday there would turn out to be a terrible experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    15
    16
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pocket Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the most pocket friendly Chinese restaurant I have been to in Nairobi. The location is in a tight corner and one may miss it but the bright red hangings make it easy to spot.

Children friendly with a lot of play toys around.

They seem to be in need of a few more waiters as they seemed overwhelmed. The service did not diminish however.

The rations are smaller than other Chinese restaurants in town. Perhaps the price difference manifests itself thus. Their sweet and sour pork is really nice. I didn't find the prawns good though

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food fit for the pocket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This place has excellent Chinese food try their sweet and sour fish and chicken noodles. I love the way the owner checks up on everyone and they have plenty of space. There's limited parking inside however they have secure parking outside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Families most popular Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

"For you" is a friendly Chinese restautant of permanent good quality. 25 visits without a single deception.
Great garden. Plenty of space. Very friendly waiters. A friendly lady boss that has an eye on everything. The kids adore it because they are specially taken care of. It is the place of all the birthday dinners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We patronise For You as a family because they have good Chinese food and the place is great for family. The service is good too with private dining areas on request. You also don't need a reservation. The most pocket friendly chinese restaurant in Nairobi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For You Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Been to For You Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For You Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.