We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, great prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of For You Chinese Restaurant

For You Chinese Restaurant
Corner Gitanga Road/ Ole Dume Road | Entrance Gitanga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We patronise For You as a family because they have good Chinese food and the place is great for family. The service is good too with private dining areas on request. You also don't need a reservation. The most pocket friendly chinese restaurant in Nairobi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We patronised this restaurant for a family dinner. The food was great. The owner welcomes every guest and remarkably remembers their names. I found that really commendable.
Our waiter was very polite and helpful. He helped recommend what dishes to try & I must say his choice was very good. The chicken& cashew nut especially spoke to me.
The price is very fair in comparison to some oriental establishments in Nairobi.
Upon leaving, the guests are given little gifts and sweets, which the children especially love.
All on all, the restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Like others have said, For You is good value!

All the pluses:
Food portions were generous, tasty and prices were low.
Service was prompt and courteous.
The bill was accurate and payment was easy.

We enjoyed the private room as we were a party of 12. Complementary ice cream at the end is a bonus!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

the food is enjoyable and the best part is your wallet will not cringe when the bill comes. we were a party of 4 pax and we ate 2 of everything(starters n main dishes) and had some left overs. will definitely go back when in the area.
now the only negative thing is that its a kid friendly place,which isn't a bad thing unless when dealing with parents that cannot control their hyperactive kids who think that running around in the restaurant screaming is a norm!!!!be ready for that.on that day the parents of the kids were busy seating and eating while the kids decided to see who can shout the loudest.worst part is we were seated inside not outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“All Round Good Experience & Good Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

For You Restaurant has both a scenic garden view and cozy internal sitting. The place is always busy and this is not surprising because of 4 factors;
1. Very reasonable pricing
2. Very decent portions for all meals
3. Personalized Attention provided by the owners on every table
4. Freshness of the food
The outdoor area has a decent playground for the kids so for a family day out, your kids can have a good time too.
Their service is very decent and the fact that the owners come round checking on you if everything is in order adds a personalized touch to the whole experience. They are very unique in that once you pay your bill, they give you some odd gifts (last time we got an LED torch and some friends got some unique keychains) as their way of saying thank you.

Anyone looking to have a good chinese meal - then For you fits the bill perfectly.It is prepared exactly how chinese food should be - without over spicing the foods.

My recommended must tries:

Chilly cashewnuts
Crispy spring rolls
Pork Dumpling
Veg/Chicken Fried Rice
Duck

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For You Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to For You Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For You Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.