We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, great prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of For You Chinese Restaurant

For You Chinese Restaurant
Corner Gitanga Road/ Ole Dume Road | Entrance Gitanga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Update restaurant details
Ranked #73 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We patronise For You as a family because they have good Chinese food and the place is great for family. The service is good too with private dining areas on request. You also don't need a reservation. The most pocket friendly chinese restaurant in Nairobi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    15
    12
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We patronised this restaurant for a family dinner. The food was great. The owner welcomes every guest and remarkably remembers their names. I found that really commendable.
Our waiter was very polite and helpful. He helped recommend what dishes to try & I must say his choice was very good. The chicken& cashew nut especially spoke to me.
The price is very fair in comparison to some oriental establishments in Nairobi.
Upon leaving, the guests are given little gifts and sweets, which the children especially love.
All on all, the restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Like others have said, For You is good value!

All the pluses:
Food portions were generous, tasty and prices were low.
Service was prompt and courteous.
The bill was accurate and payment was easy.

We enjoyed the private room as we were a party of 12. Complementary ice cream at the end is a bonus!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

the food is enjoyable and the best part is your wallet will not cringe when the bill comes. we were a party of 4 pax and we ate 2 of everything(starters n main dishes) and had some left overs. will definitely go back when in the area.
now the only negative thing is that its a kid friendly place,which isn't a bad thing unless when dealing with parents that cannot control their hyperactive kids who think that running around in the restaurant screaming is a norm!!!!be ready for that.on that day the parents of the kids were busy seating and eating while the kids decided to see who can shout the loudest.worst part is we were seated inside not outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All Round Good Experience & Good Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

For You Restaurant has both a scenic garden view and cozy internal sitting. The place is always busy and this is not surprising because of 4 factors;
1. Very reasonable pricing
2. Very decent portions for all meals
3. Personalized Attention provided by the owners on every table
4. Freshness of the food
The outdoor area has a decent playground for the kids so for a family day out, your kids can have a good time too.
Their service is very decent and the fact that the owners come round checking on you if everything is in order adds a personalized touch to the whole experience. They are very unique in that once you pay your bill, they give you some odd gifts (last time we got an LED torch and some friends got some unique keychains) as their way of saying thank you.

Anyone looking to have a good chinese meal - then For you fits the bill perfectly.It is prepared exactly how chinese food should be - without over spicing the foods.

My recommended must tries:

Chilly cashewnuts
Crispy spring rolls
Pork Dumpling
Veg/Chicken Fried Rice
Duck

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For You Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to For You Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For You Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.