We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Chinese restaurant in Nairobi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of For You Chinese Restaurant

For You Chinese Restaurant
Corner Gitanga Road/ Ole Dume Road | Entrance Gitanga Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An excellent Chinese restaurant in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Friends took us to this restaurant because it was their favourite and I have to admit I thoroughly enjoyed my meal there! We chose to sit in the outside eating area because it was a nice evening and enjoyed the extra privacy this gave us to be able to talk together.

I ordered the sliced beef with black bean sauce and it was all I hoped it would be, extremely tasty with a bit of a spicy bite. Our friend tried a bite and so liked it better than his own dish that he swore he would order that instead next time!

Unfortunately, when it came time to settle the bill, our friends' credit card would not work and they absolutely refused to let us use ours to pay for the meal, even though they were also short of cash. Fortunately, they were well-known patrons of the restaurant and the owner readily extended them credit to be paid later. Needless to say, I was impressed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    15
    16
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good one: nice food, good service, excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Food is tasty, if you like it hot they can do it. Service is cool, prices are very cool, one of the best, simple place to chill out in a garden eating chinese food. Highly recommended

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Splendid Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best Chinese restaurant in Kenya. The service is great, from the host to the waiter, the watchmen.
The food is great, always fresh and yummy.
Seating outsidgbe in the evening can be a bit chilly.
Always my first restaurant choice for dinner or lunch date.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent oasis of great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is great!
Ambiance is great !
With your bill you get gifts!

Be careful on Sundays - it is packed, no more parking space remains, so you you have to find parking around. It is so popular that really gets this much packed.

You can try anything - all food is great. In the last 6 months, we have visited For You at least 20 times and the food quality is keeping hi!

Prices are more than acceptable for this kind of food and area. Personnel is friendly and very helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lot of value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I can really recommend this restaurant if you like Chinese food. It has great value for money. For two persons for around KES 1,700 (around EUR 16) total you have two drinks each and three courses in total for sharing. The ice cream desert is always on the house. The food is OK+ The staff is very friendly, quick and helpful. There is a large garden for al fresco dining including a playground, so very suitable for (little) children.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For You Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to For You Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For You Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.