We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one - Value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Emerald to your Saves list
The Hotel Emerald
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice one - Value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hi, I stayed for five nights at this hotel on Business. At the first we did face some issues with internet (must have been one off cases) and AC. Dev, the Hotel GM responded quickly, personally took initiative to fix the issue and see that we have a good time for the rest of the stay.

The staff was good, responsive and cared, centrally located, safe, good service is something that I recommend. Gym, variety in breakfast is something that can be improved...

Over-all value for money!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnaneshwar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days....1st day was a little bit issue with few things not in place. But proactive approach of Manager Mr. Dev set everything right and we enjoyed our stay afterwards. Restaurant is amazing, staff very helpful..Location is amazing...Value for money....The only thing I missed in the hotel was a swimming pool and a gym, but otherwise...everything is great...

Room Tip: Before finalizing the room, just check the cell phone connectivity as in few rooms cellphone signals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girish_manchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Huge spotless rooms with a fridge and, if you need it, good A/C, some with lovely big balconies. Staff are obliging and the laundry is one of the best I've ever encountered quick, not excessively pricy and the clothes are well washed (without excessive bleach) and ironed. Wifi is fast and easy to get on to most of the time and the area has several restaurants and bars to suit various tastes (Thai, Kenyan Indian, 5* European, Italian, KFC, Pizza etc etc. Also a good Naivas supermarket if, like me you don't want to eat out all the time.

The major let downs were:

1. In the interesting restaurant - if only they could do a decent breakfast I'd give them a tip top write-up. The attempt to save a couple of bucks on catering costs is counter productive. The very pleasant owner should bring in a consultant executive chef to get things sorted. Almost there but not quite; and
2. The lack of hot water in the wash basins - surely that isn't such a huge saving - I hate wet shaving in cold water!!

I'm going to go back as my company books me this place but I'll be looking for somewhere better nearby if I can find it!!

Room Tip: Try and get a larger one with a balcony as the balcony furniture is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SVfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

this November i, from Chennai India, went for safari in Masai Mara-Kenya I stayed in Emerald to make it a focal point of stay before traveling to Masai Mara and Naivasha on different dates..... i found Emerald best suited to stay and visit places from there Emerald to me is very economical ,compact and decent rooms, nice bed to sleep with mosquito nets , good view of city from 6th and 7th floors, very attentive and caring staff, good restaurant serving special requests for breakfast (strict vegetarian for me), all at affordable rates!!!!!! the best money could buy for with highly service oriented staff lead by the ever smiling and caring General Manager.... situated at the heart of city , close to Delta and PWC towers..... wish all future travelers to take a chance to stay here and enjoy the BEST OF SERVICES..... u have forex in the first floor .... no need to move outside... very good parking space.... felt easy with friendly atmosphere.... as a person who has worked in Africa for 8-9 years, stayed in so many class of hotels, would say that my stay last month in emerald was very comfortable and satisfactory...for the value i spent...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seshadritdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nicely appointed with a great bathroom (nice bathtub, big sink, fluffy towels, shelves to put your things, lights in different places, all clean and new), a balcony and changing area. There are a tea kettle, fridge, safe, mosquito netting, and small bottle of water every day. Part of the corridor space is open-air so the hotel is fresh and feels spacious. Wifi is decent, though subject to random disappearances. I didn't find the rooms insufferably loud, but I am used to staying in hovels and my standards for noise are much more generous than they used to be, so maybe don't take my word on that. I like being near Sarit.

Best advantage is the staff. I left a small object in my room and they contacted me right away to let me know they had it and offered to either keep it until my next visit or send it to me! Very professional, honest and committed to making you feel at home and safe.

Downside is that there is one small elevator to service the whole building and Emerald is on floors 6 and 7 -- with a barred stairwell so you don't have any choice and will spend a lot of time in an elevator queue. Another negative is that if you arrive before 8am, breakfast is not as nice as its beautiful circular dining room, serving only one juice (albeit fresh-squeezed), a bit of fruit, black tea and coffee, cups of yoghurt (with almonds, cashews and raisins as toppers) and the obligatory wheatabix and cornflakes. The hot breakfast is to order, your choice of sausage, bacon, omelet, beans and toast. Okay maybe that description sounds better than I intended it to -- but for an ovo-vegetarian it's not so great :) By 8 or 8.30 they’ve also assembled two buffet hot dishes, more cut fruit, and two more juices. The Spanish omelet is generous and well-made and you get a whole bowl of beans. For a review of the restaurant itself, look up Vista on Trip Advisor. Finally, I was bummed there is no gym, but if you are really keen you can get day passes to the fitness center in Sarit.

If you are eager for such details, check-in is 2pm and check-out is 11am. Hotel website is http://thehotelemerald.com/

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for about 3 days...very good hotel, nice accommodation and hospitality. ..unfortunately it's not well located...standing on the ground floor you would not imagine there is such a magnificent hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My colleague and I stayed at Hotel Emerald last month.
What I didn't realise is that the hotel is on the 6th and 7th floor of an office block. Not ideal in terms of security, but also not terrible. I saw comments on noise, but I didn't notice anything.

Positive:
The rooms were nice and clean, the furniture was new, the shower is really good, and the bed was very comfortable.
The Emerald staff is extremely friendly, hospitable, and helpful. They are great!

Room for improvement:
The breakfast is a little disappointing and unimaginative.
Somehow my booking had vanished.
My colleague was not provided with a mosquito net in his room.
The first morning I received a wake up call at 0500, which was not meant for me.

All in all, I would say I had a pleasant stay, but it was also not great. In my opinion, Emerald is not worth the 120 USD they charge per night.

However, should my preferred hotels all be booked, I will definitely consider returning to Hotel Emerald.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonietsjka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Progressive Park Hotel
Progressive Park Hotel
#22 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
#122 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nanchang Hotel
Nanchang Hotel
#58 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel
Jacaranda Hotel
#49 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Zehneria Portico Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Emerald

Address: 12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Emerald 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Emerald is a business class hotel located in the Westlands suburb of Nairobi. With 59 individually designed rooms, the Hotel Emerald offers comfort in a convenient location. Steps away from major shopping and entertainment hubs, the hotel is the ideal place for your next stay. The hotel also offers conference and meeting space for any special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing