We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Par Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Emerald to your Saves list
The Hotel Emerald
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Par Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for about 3 days...very good hotel, nice accommodation and hospitality. ..unfortunately it's not well located...standing on the ground floor you would not imagine there is such a magnificent hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My colleague and I stayed at Hotel Emerald last month.
What I didn't realise is that the hotel is on the 6th and 7th floor of an office block. Not ideal in terms of security, but also not terrible. I saw comments on noise, but I didn't notice anything.

Positive:
The rooms were nice and clean, the furniture was new, the shower is really good, and the bed was very comfortable.
The Emerald staff is extremely friendly, hospitable, and helpful. They are great!

Room for improvement:
The breakfast is a little disappointing and unimaginative.
Somehow my booking had vanished.
My colleague was not provided with a mosquito net in his room.
The first morning I received a wake up call at 0500, which was not meant for me.

All in all, I would say I had a pleasant stay, but it was also not great. In my opinion, Emerald is not worth the 120 USD they charge per night.

However, should my preferred hotels all be booked, I will definitely consider returning to Hotel Emerald.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Yeah, quite a difficult place to review. Guess I can say, you need to know what you are there for if you choose to stay there. The place is located in a noisy surrounding and even the efforts taken to put people in the "quieter" rooms seems to bear little effort. However, I could still sleep through the noise, so I made no fuss about it. The hotel is located in the mid of town with lots of good restaurants, bars, clubs around - hence the noise especially from Thursday to Saturday. There is also a classy club, Club Aqua on the first floor. I love it for playing SA music too. The staff is very good and helpful, special mention to the Manager Esther, who went out of her way to ensure the room was well set up and ready for occupation. Nice place to stay, would not mind returning there for another visit. I did not see the pool nor the fitness centre, so I will not rate those. The place is secure, but if outside, you have to be wary of street children
P/S: The restaurant serves everything serve for beef..... but I did not find their breakfast amusing, so I opted to sleep through breakfast and go directly to workshop..

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet rooms and also request for a mosquito net if you prone to mosquito bites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

It is a great Hotel, Since it is situated in West Land, its sort of Town centre every thing became easy, The rooms a BIG, clean with safe facility but honestly the environment is such that you feel really secured. There is a proper security in place as well. At the same time, it has good and BIG restaurant and good food. I enjoyed breakfast the most - Mango Juice - hmmm. All this facility and charges are very fair. Stay recomended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Hotel is a regular Business class hotel located in a good location. The rooms and Facilities are good. The Staff were also good.
Room that I stayed had a lot of noise coming from outside and hence could not get a good sleep.
Over all an good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we visited Kenya on a business trip and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. we feel a comfortable stay, delicious Indian and Continental food, Good service and helpful reception staff. This property is located in the city centre, accessible to nearby shopping malls, restaurants & local market.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My brothers wedding took place in Nairobi from 10th to 13th July. We put up all our guests at the emerald. We took up a total of 50 rooms. Very clean hotel, well maintained, compared to ones we saw of similar price range before booking. Hotel is situated on the 6th to 8th floor (last two floors) of a commercial building. There are a number of restaurants and clubs around the vicinity as well as two big malls. There is ample secure parking but a bit expensive. Never got a chance to taste food at their restaurant but the view form the restaurant is really nice overlooking the city.
We used one of the three big multi purpose halls for one of our functions. Really nice with a really good view.
Staff were quite helpful. We had minor issues in one or two of the rooms with the door key not working and the toilet being blocked in the other. Other than that rooms were really well maintained.
Being surrounded by night clubs, noise was a small issue. Though they have a wing which is less noisy.
Overall had a great time! Would definitely like to return for another wedding at the emerald.

Room Tip: Choose the less noisy wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Emerald

Address: 12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Emerald 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Emerald is a business class hotel located in the Westlands suburb of Nairobi. With 59 individually designed rooms, the Hotel Emerald offers comfort in a convenient location. Steps away from major shopping and entertainment hubs, the hotel is the ideal place for your next stay. The hotel also offers conference and meeting space for any special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Emerald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.