We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Emerald to your Saves list
The Hotel Emerald
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
100USD
Ranked #37 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Mombasa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My brothers wedding took place in Nairobi from 10th to 13th July. We put up all our guests at the emerald. We took up a total of 50 rooms. Very clean hotel, well maintained, compared to ones we saw of similar price range before booking. Hotel is situated on the 6th to 8th floor (last two floors) of a commercial building. There are a number of restaurants and clubs around the vicinity as well as two big malls. There is ample secure parking but a bit expensive. Never got a chance to taste food at their restaurant but the view form the restaurant is really nice overlooking the city.
We used one of the three big multi purpose halls for one of our functions. Really nice with a really good view.
Staff were quite helpful. We had minor issues in one or two of the rooms with the door key not working and the toilet being blocked in the other. Other than that rooms were really well maintained.
Being surrounded by night clubs, noise was a small issue. Though they have a wing which is less noisy.
Overall had a great time! Would definitely like to return for another wedding at the emerald.

Room Tip: Choose the less noisy wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
2
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

- Very Friendly and Welcoming Staff
- Newly Built Rooms
- Very Close to two Mega Malls
- Not too much variety for Breakfast but made-to-order dishes available on request.

- Very Busy and Noisy Surrounding. If staying on weekend, loud music from neighboring clubs/ pubs may play till late night
- Hotel on 6th Floor of a Commercial Complex

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague for about 1 week.
The hotel is nice and people managing are good. So much being advised about the security concerns in Nairobi the environment of the hotel and surrounding was really different of the stories and we felt quite secure.

Service was although quite slow; I guess the new established place was having teething problems.

The location of the hotel is something which is extremely good.

The hotel building (top 3 floors of a 8 storey building complex) is not very attractive as property compared to the prices.

Room Tip: Call & book; chances are there for getting a good deal depending on how much rush they are into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Marcellin-en-Forez, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed 6 nights for business.
The hotel is surrounded by bars and nightclubs so it is REALLY NOISY !
I asked to change room but the insulation is poor everywhere in the hotel.
If you want to rest and sleep at night, do not go there !
However, the staff is nice and the rooms are pretty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagar D, Manager at The Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ms. Cintran:

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am sincerely sorry you had a bad experience at the hotel especially regarding the noise. I apologize that the staff did not try to move you to a more quiet room. I wish you had asked me, personally I would have ensured your satisfaction. Sometimes, the front area does get loud, especially during the weekends. Next time you are in Nairobi, please give me the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Sagar Dave
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped in Nairobi on they way back home from our Kenya trip. Checked-in at about 2:00 PM and checked out next morning after breakfast. Hotel was ok, and very clean because it is new. Great location - in the centre of the business district and in a relatively safer area of Nairobi ( as told to me by the porter), very very helpful staff. Bad point - Had to wait for an hour for food to come to that table for lunch and dinner, Good point - great food( we had Indian)

Overall, ok place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagar D, General Manager at The Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
Dear Mr Tanmay -das
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and specifically the food, but sorry for the delay . Please stay with us again in future. Thank you. Kind regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
#40 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Nanchang Hotel
#67 of 130 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Progressive Park Hotel
#20 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#31 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road
#42 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Zehneria Nairobi
#52 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Emerald

Address: 12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Emerald 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Emerald is a business class hotel located in the Westlands suburb of Nairobi. With 59 individually designed rooms, the Hotel Emerald offers comfort in a convenient location. Steps away from major shopping and entertainment hubs, the hotel is the ideal place for your next stay. The hotel also offers conference and meeting space for any special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Emerald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.