We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hospitality and nice people to stay with” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Emerald

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Emerald to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Hotel Emerald
12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Rajkot, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Hospitality and nice people to stay with”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague for about 1 week.
The hotel is nice and people managing are good. So much being advised about the security concerns in Nairobi the environment of the hotel and surrounding was really different of the stories and we felt quite secure.

Service was although quite slow; I guess the new established place was having teething problems.

The location of the hotel is something which is extremely good.

The hotel building (top 3 floors of a 8 storey building complex) is not very attractive as property compared to the prices.

Room Tip: Call & book; chances are there for getting a good deal depending on how much rush they are into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Marcellin-en-Forez, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed 6 nights for business.
The hotel is surrounded by bars and nightclubs so it is REALLY NOISY !
I asked to change room but the insulation is poor everywhere in the hotel.
If you want to rest and sleep at night, do not go there !
However, the staff is nice and the rooms are pretty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagar D, Manager at The Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ms. Cintran:

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am sincerely sorry you had a bad experience at the hotel especially regarding the noise. I apologize that the staff did not try to move you to a more quiet room. I wish you had asked me, personally I would have ensured your satisfaction. Sometimes, the front area does get loud, especially during the weekends. Next time you are in Nairobi, please give me the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Sagar Dave
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped in Nairobi on they way back home from our Kenya trip. Checked-in at about 2:00 PM and checked out next morning after breakfast. Hotel was ok, and very clean because it is new. Great location - in the centre of the business district and in a relatively safer area of Nairobi ( as told to me by the porter), very very helpful staff. Bad point - Had to wait for an hour for food to come to that table for lunch and dinner, Good point - great food( we had Indian)

Overall, ok place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Emerald

Address: 12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Emerald is a business class hotel located in the Westlands suburb of Nairobi. With 59 individually designed rooms, the Hotel Emerald offers comfort in a convenient location. Steps away from major shopping and entertainment hubs, the hotel is the ideal place for your next stay. The hotel also offers conference and meeting space for any special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Emerald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.