We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 337 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza, Barbecue, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The food and service at Purdys is great . We live in Hardy and when ever we feel like going out to eat we end up at Purdys. The waiters are always friendly and attentive . You do not wait long for your meal to be served , which for Kenya is refreshing !
Lovely Pub atmosphere and great place for families .
Saturdays are also great , with a farmers market in the morning , which has lovely fresh local produce for sale. Then in afternoon or evening enjoy the rugby or soccer with the other patrons.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very homely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Well i have to say firstly that the Purdy Arms is a very homely place, with shops a salon for hair cuts, facials, pedicures etc and the owners of all the shops and salon are great and very welcoming with wonderful sense of humor, you can have a good laugh with them.
To the side of the 5 rooms, they are all different in there own way, very cosy and comfortable.
The Purdy has beautiful gardens and ideal setting for Weddings, Birthday parties or any other social functions that you want to hold.
In so far as the food is concerned i personally eat there a lot and is always good, and should you have an issue just call for the management and they will resolve it, with open arms!!! I always feel it best to speak with someone in authority giving them the chance of putting things right rather than going away all upset. then scathing the organisation on this site.
The bar is a great social place to have a few cold drinks and chill out. The management will always welcome you or sit and chat with you. The bar has 2 large TV screens for watching sports of a wide array.
The Potting Shed is at the entrance of the premises and all are very welcome to go in take a look around and buy plants, flowers etc, they also do land scaping.
There you have it!!!!!! Please give it a chance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful for a date out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Loved it. went out for dinner...ended up staying much longer than i planned. Was really really fun. Recommend it to anyone.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“THIS WAS UNIQUE AND AWESOME......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were referred by an old friend who runs a boutique hotel in karen area, i must say their meals were delicious and order clarity is key here....the Duty Manager Moses just wowed us!! Meal suggestion, little concerns we had on muslim dishes, my chinese friend got what he wanted to sample too , he took care of all that ! We must say we are happy and that is why we MUST come back and refer other travelers .....kudos Purdy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

After a couple of weeks of African food, we were dying for a good 'ol burger. Someone suggested Purdy Arms. Its a hike If you are staying anywhere but Karen, but we made the trek. We were not disappointed. The service, food and ambiance is excellent!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.