We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 331 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I felt so blank when my hubby asked me where I wanted him to take me on mother's day, and I thought of checking on trip adviser. We did not know such a great place like Purdy Arms exist until we visited it. The food was fantastic, nutritious and plenty. Waiters like Musya were so friendly and always there even before we called him. The environment so clean and the breeze meant total life. Purdy Arms is a very fulfilling place to be in. I will be back there again and again. Thumbs up guys.


Fridah M. Kilemi
Karen-Nairobi
Kenya

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have been to Purdy arms twice and both times the food was disappointing. The first time, we ordered beef guiness pies, the meat was tough, the gravy bland and the vegetables were over done. The second time, we went for the lunch buffet and were met by a sale bar full of flies, despite the netting. The buffet was low key with chicken, beef and fish to choose from neither of which had any flavour and the roast potatoes were soggy. The high light was the kids Pizza making area and the grounds which are beautiful. It is unfortunate that a place with so much potential is not up to standard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review but we are obviously upset that you were disappointed with the experience. We wish you had discussed either visit with one of the owners Jules or Kat, one of whom is nearly always on site so we could have dealt with your disappointment immediately.

The beef and Guinness pie is one of our best sellers with over 100 satisfied customers a month. We use only prime fillet and indeed are one of the only restaurants in Kenya I am aware of who have their own on site supplier of gourmet sausages and meats who only source their products from carefully chosen suppliers who match their high quality standards.

Due to the popularity of the buffet we are currently in the process of moving and expanding the service area to provide room for a greater selection of foods. We shared your review with the kitchen who were upset by your comments but unfortunately without being informed on the day it is difficult for them to pin point the issue. Please rest assured we always strive to offer quality meals at an affordable price.

I am glad you enjoyed the kids pizza making and grounds where we provide free entertainment for children at the weekends as well as events such as the Farmers Market where we source many of our organic products from.

We would like the chance to meet and discuss further your issues so if you visit us again please ask for Kat or Jules as we are always striving to be one of the best bars and restaurants in Nairobi and obviously appreciate helpful feedback in order to try and achieve this.

Again, sorry that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A perfect place to eat & hang out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Purdy Arms is one of these places you can go for any kind of event, may it be for a wedding, birthday party, taking out the kids, sun-downer/happy hour, coffee or a wine in the late afternoon, dinner/brunch/buffet on the weekend or just like that to sit on their lovely terrace overlooking the amazing garden & property. The food is very nice, and the prices reasonable. There is always someone at hand with a warm welcome smile! If you bring the kids they can create their own pizza and jump around in the 'castle'! Brilliant place all around!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Purdy Arms, Karen. We are so pleased that you enjoy your visits here and we are proud that we have become part of the local community after having only been open for just over a year.

We shared your review with all the staff here and they were so happy with your comments it put a massive smile on everyone's faces.

Thanks again and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Delightful, friendly hang-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a find! Brilliant hang-out for Sunday lunch, such great atmosphere, very friendly staff and owners,great outdoor terrace, decent food, good bar, an absolute must especially for families, but even without kids it's just the best place for chilling out and enjoying the surroundings. I want to go and live there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words, which we have shared with all of the staff who are so thankful for your comments.

We have to agree it is an amazing property and we still get a smile every time we walk on the terrace, even after over a year of seeing the grounds grow and develop.

We'd love to live here too, but unfortunately have to save the rooms for the bed and breakfast guests :)

Thanks again for such a nice review. It made our day :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Outstanding sausages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Purdy Arms kind of fills the garden restaurant niche in Karen, where a lot of residents like to eat out for lunch on a Saturday or Sunday, with the whole family. The garden is extensive, great stuff to do for kids of all ages (including making their own pizza), so perfect for families. The food is good, nothing too surprising, with very good pizza - and out of this world sausages. Original German recipes, home made on the property, these are the real thing and worth trying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We do pride ourselves in our German sausages which, as you say, are made on site using the best ingredients available. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed them.

Having two young children ourselves we have tried to make the Purdy Arms children friendly with lots of space for them to run around and activities to keep them entertained at the weekend.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.