We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to eat & hang out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 337 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza, Barbecue, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A perfect place to eat & hang out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Purdy Arms is one of these places you can go for any kind of event, may it be for a wedding, birthday party, taking out the kids, sun-downer/happy hour, coffee or a wine in the late afternoon, dinner/brunch/buffet on the weekend or just like that to sit on their lovely terrace overlooking the amazing garden & property. The food is very nice, and the prices reasonable. There is always someone at hand with a warm welcome smile! If you bring the kids they can create their own pizza and jump around in the 'castle'! Brilliant place all around!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Purdy Arms, Karen. We are so pleased that you enjoy your visits here and we are proud that we have become part of the local community after having only been open for just over a year.

We shared your review with all the staff here and they were so happy with your comments it put a massive smile on everyone's faces.

Thanks again and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Delightful, friendly hang-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a find! Brilliant hang-out for Sunday lunch, such great atmosphere, very friendly staff and owners,great outdoor terrace, decent food, good bar, an absolute must especially for families, but even without kids it's just the best place for chilling out and enjoying the surroundings. I want to go and live there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words, which we have shared with all of the staff who are so thankful for your comments.

We have to agree it is an amazing property and we still get a smile every time we walk on the terrace, even after over a year of seeing the grounds grow and develop.

We'd love to live here too, but unfortunately have to save the rooms for the bed and breakfast guests :)

Thanks again for such a nice review. It made our day :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Outstanding sausages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Purdy Arms kind of fills the garden restaurant niche in Karen, where a lot of residents like to eat out for lunch on a Saturday or Sunday, with the whole family. The garden is extensive, great stuff to do for kids of all ages (including making their own pizza), so perfect for families. The food is good, nothing too surprising, with very good pizza - and out of this world sausages. Original German recipes, home made on the property, these are the real thing and worth trying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We do pride ourselves in our German sausages which, as you say, are made on site using the best ingredients available. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed them.

Having two young children ourselves we have tried to make the Purdy Arms children friendly with lots of space for them to run around and activities to keep them entertained at the weekend.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent a lovely few hours here last Saturday after a visit to Kazuri. Relaxed outside in the gardens catching up with girlfriends, enjoyed the farmers market then joined my other half and his mates for a drink inside. Lunch was delicious - Turkey Sausages and Mash, the other half had a Steak & Ale pie. lots of lovely veg, great service, great location and good food. Definitely on my list the next time we pass through Nairobi.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review, which we have shared with the staff. Being in the heart of Karen we are close to Kazuri Beads, Karen Blixen Museum as well as the Giraffe Center .

We are so glad that you enjoyed the sausages which we pride ourselves on as they are made on site using the best ingredients.

At Purdy Arms we try to be part of the local community and the Farmers Market is currently the first Saturday of every month but we are hoping to increase the frequency going forward as it has become so popular.

Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best outdoor eatery in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Without doubt the best outdoor eating experience in Nairobi, alone or with friends/family. Great food, great service and great relaxation in a beautiful wooded location hardly 15 minutes outside the bustling Nairobi.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking time to write such a nice review. What initially attracted us to the house which is now the Purdy Arms is the garden which has been so beautifully looked after over decades and decades. Indeed, we used to come and sit in the garden most weekends even before we opened the restaurant because it was so peaceful.

We have shared your review with the staff who are also so happy that you consider the Purdy Arms to be the best outdoor eatery in Nairobi.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.