We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great out of city place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 362 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza, Barbecue, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great out of city place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Here you can eat & relax well feeling out of city. The garden is spacious with lots of greens while kids can play around and also enjoy cooking pizza. Perfect weekend out place for me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Purdy Arms and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Two of the owners have young children themselves so we have tried out best to make it as children friendly as possible.

We agree that Nairobi can be very hectic particularly with the traffic so we try to provide a relaxing oasis away from this.

Thanks again for the kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    56
    19
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A taste of home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I ate here with my father during a stopover in Nairobi en route to Tanzania. We were looking for somewhere that we could get some simple food after a day in the National Park, and the Purdy Arms didn't disappoint. I had a lovely chicken burger and chips, and my father had a beef burger and chips. The food was simple but very tasty, especially the burger bun, which is one of the best I've ever had.

There was live sport on the TV - rugby and football. The bar is well stocked, and the service is good, with attentive wait staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. I must admit one of the joys of living in Karen is the proximity to the National Park and we do try to go there ourselves as often as possible.

At the Purdy Arms we are proud of our Chef and the food which he and his team produces and are so glad that you enjoyed the burgers. We always share any feedback with the staff and they are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat, drink, relax or party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Amazing venue with good food and great service, the staff are attentive and helpful, the menu is varied and the Pizzas are a good option. Tusker baridi during happy hour, awesome value and welcoming friendly atmosphere, well worth a trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. We always try to keep the Tusker baridi sana which is why we have such a huge backup generator on site for the numerous power cuts which we get in Karen!

As we always do we shared your thoughts with everyone who works at the Purdy Arms, and they are so happy that you enjoyed your visit.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic "Gastropub" in Karen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have been visiting this pub / restaurant since it opened. The grounds are marvelous with over 20 acres of beautiful mature trees to wander around in or let your kids play in. There are several other "shops" in the grounds including a salon a clothes shop and a wonderful nursery for plants etc. The bar itself is a local favourite (hence me being there) and is a great place to have a very cold beer and catch up on the latest gossip. The outdoor patio is a wonderful place to eat. The menu has changed a lot since I first ate there in that there is a greater range of food available and also the quality has improved. The food is good "pub food" with things like sausages and mash, pizzas, T bone steak and other classic pub dishes. BUT, there were several types of sausages available including spicy and non spicy lamb, turkey and cranberry and obviously pork. I think this gives the Purdy Arms the edge. Do not expect 5 star dining but this is a great place to relax in casual surroundings and enjoy tasty VFM food.
In our party of 4 (the last time we ate there) I had the spicy lamb sausages and mash, my wife had T bone steak and our friends from Voi had scampi and chips and some ribs. All of us loved the food and said we would definitely eat there again. I enjoy eating out a lot having just returned from a michelin star restaurant tour of London. This is not a fancy restaurant but does exactly what it is supposed to.Give it a go, you won't be disappointed. Incidentally there are 2 huge screens for live sport in the bar and I cannot think of a better place to visit in Nairobi for what it offers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Crowded over the weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Average food, popular expat spot. Over crowded during the weekend with expats. Purdy Arms has a big green area, great for families with kids.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Manager at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Purdy Arms, Karen.

We agree it can get busy over the weekend which is why we advise people to reserve a table in advance. With 23 acres there is the opportunity for guests to sit in the bar, on the terrace or in the gardens and spread out as much as they would like. We do attract guests from all over Nairobi and beyond which is a very multicultural city.

It is a shame that you did not say what you had to eat as we would have shared it with the kitchen as we always strive to be excellent not just above average. We are always happy to receive feedback from guests and for this reason one of the owners is nearly always on site to respond in case there are any issues.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.