We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“owners table” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza, Barbecue, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
NBI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“owners table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Come sit at the owners table in the evenings and get free beers! Great place! Select your songs on the duke box.. Don't know anywhere else that has this

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    54
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ukunda, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kitchen needs attention”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

As one of the few restaurants in the Karen / Langata area that is super for Children we collected the various cousins for a family lunch , service great but as in so many places in Nairobi food mediocre bordering on poor . The ' Ribs ' ( after overhearing the manager ) were definitely not '' Too die for '' , my first reaction was that they tasted of bacon , so much for the marinade , My partners ' Chicken Kiev ' looked like a big burnt scotch egg , and apparently it tasted ' Dry ' , more attention needs to be spent by management in the catering department otherwise you will 'slip behind ' like so many other examples

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you find the restaurant child friendly as this is one of the major reasons we took the trouble to open it up as one of the owners has two young children themselves, and they also found there were very few places in Karen / Langata that they could take them.

However, we are sorry that the food did not meet your or our expectations for our guests and friends. It is a shame that you did not point out the issues to the owner who you overheard, as we take customer feedback to heart and would have made every effort to rectify the issues immediately, This is why one of the owners is nearly always available on duty.

You will be pleased to note that we have made significant changes to the kitchen since December 2013 to accommodate the large number of visitors we are welcoming at the weekends.

We agree that this marinade does make the pork ribs have a taste of bacon, and have received positive feedback on this. However, following your review we are looking into offering an alternative range of marinades for the ribs, and indeed the kitchen has already started with trials of this.

Finally we also shared your review with all of our kitchen and senior staff over the weekend with regards to how disappointed you were. They all took this to heart and promised to redouble their efforts to produce consistency in the food. The Chicken Kiev is one of our best sellers, and should certainly have not tasted dry, and would not have become popular if it always did.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies that your experience was not what we hope and expect to provide our friends and guests, and rest assured that we continue to work night and day to try and attain the highest standards possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We are addicted to Purdy Arms wondeful place! Great food, friendly atmosphere, beautiful gardens that keep the kids busy. The pub has a great buzz in the evenings.Only down side is the service is a bit slow but the food is well worth the wait.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We do try to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere and are so pleased that you think that we have achieved this.

We have shared your review with all the staff and the waiters noted your comments and promised to try and improve the speed of service. At their suggestion we have started to put in place, and will expand, remote service points and additional bars in order to be able to serve all our guests and friends quicker when we are busy.

Thanks again for kind comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Good food - portions just the right size.
Lovely gardens.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Reasonable value.
Seemed to be bus, have many regulars and family friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a godsend for families in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have had several lovely meals at Purdy Arms over the past month- every time a total success with parents and kids alike. The gardens are lovely with plenty to keep the kids (ours aged 5 and 2 1/2 years) occupied and happy. Meanwhile we can relax under a tree keeping an eye on them and enjoy the great service - Tuskers always cold and promptly delivered! The kids menu is great. They always eat so well after all that running around and tell us it's all 'so yummy!'. And our food has always been very enjoyable too- there's something for everyone on the menu. The staff (especially Julie) are charming and attentive. The xmas carols event with Santa arriving in a helicopter was a total success - highlight of my kids year! We will be frequenting whenever we are in Karen, especially with the additions of a lovely salon, shop (bought fabulous necklace there), and lovely artwork usually on the walls which you can buy. Thank god for Purdy Arms. Families DO GO!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.