We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place for a pub lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a pub lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place has great reviews, and really does live up to them. As gastro pub as I think you can get in Kenya (my starter was samosas.... which, with the tomato chuntney that they were served with, were delicious), this was a fantastic place to get a relaxed sunday lunch in before, heading to Ngong races which are held just down the road. Lovely staff, serving you on a great terrace amongst the flowers and trees. With both the rain and shine, we had a great time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    37
    28
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to eat & drink & chill in Kenya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A local's hang out! In the suburb of Karen, outside Nairbobi city - nestled in a beautiful garden setting! You can sit here and eat and drink all day - which I do, with free wifi! The staff are so friendly. This is a great place for grown ups and kids - with fabulous family days at the weekend with bouncy castles, play equipment, build-your-own pizzas for kids..and a relaxed, lovely setting for adults (you can let your kids roam free and enjoy adult time). You can even get your hair & nails done, or try a spot of archery! This is my daily hang out when in Kenya. Great coffee! You'll be back, day in day out!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This Italian mansion house restaurant, bar and boutique B&B is perched on a ridge with breath taking views of the sunset behind the Ngong Hills. The pretty colourful flowers adorn the terraces where one can partake in a decent glass of crisp cold wine (a rare find in Kenya) and scrumptious food warms the heart, while children play hide n seek in the enormous garden dwarfed by Jurassic trees ...
Families, couples, businesses and tourists flock here because there is something for everyone.
The Landlord and Landlady have embedded such kindness, charm and generosity..
I have to say, there's no place like 'home'...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Well done to the management team for keeping such consistency. From the food to the ambiance. Also for coming up with new innovations on the menu. Great food great place to while away the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A real pub with a friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went after a long afternoon looking at a friend's new house so were in need of good grub for supper. Purdy Arms was just the right place for us and our friends.
As we entered the rugby match on the big screen was drawing to a close but we were shown to a table where we could continue our conversation and enjoy the pub food that is their speciality.
The bangers and mash had a variety of sausages to chose from. The fish and chips were excellent and the chicken Kiev moist and succulent. We all enjoyed what we had chosen.
The place has been around for a long time but is definitely worth a trip to Karen to experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.