We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Gardens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A friend ask us to try this place, saying the gardens are great for the kids to have lots of fun. That was very true the kids had a ball. The waiter was helpful and pleasant. We tried the wings which were ok, but not the best in town. We also tried the Fish and Chips, fish was excellent and easy one of the best I tried. Wish a could say the same for the chips. They tasted like they were reheated and refried not fresh. Chicken Kiev was good. Prices are reasonable. Excellent garden though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, and so glad that your kids enjoyed the garden.

Sorry about the chips but please rest assured that they are all fresh cooked and not reheated and refried. If you have any such issues in the future please ask for one of the owners, Kat or Jules who is always on site and will attend to any issues you have.

Glad you enjoyed the gardens and do hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's a gas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal with my gal, old fashioned Fish and Chips...... as good ad my mum made. Great gardens, fab staff.... A great Sunday..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review.

People do love the fish and chips and are glad that you like them.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A real gem - weekend favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

In Karen, virtually across the road from Karen horse riding school, tucked away is the real gem of a place. Amazing lawns, they usually open up a bouncy castle for the kids, in addition to the many permanent playground attractions.

Food and service are OK, nothing exceptional (unlike you're really into English pub sort of food), though they do have some interesting items. The marshmallow and chocolate samosas - how could you not try such a desert?! - are highly recommended.

Great place for a weekend breakfast/lunch

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the recommendation, it is much appreciated.

We are very proud of the gardens and will hopefully get some more playground attractions to keep the children entertained.

We are constantly looking to improve our food and service, and hopefully you will see some improvement in this going forward.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we genuinely appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great pub in Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Best Beef and Guinness pie in Kenya! Cold Tusker! Love the jukebox tracks! Will have to make it my local! Good job!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Purdy Arms.

We will always make sure that we have plenty of cold Tusker for you.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Husband loves Chicken Kiev!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We go here at least once a week! Good service, fun atmosphere, and the best chicken wings in town! The fillet is really great w the salad and pepper sauce, tender and juicy! Nice dining room separate from pup area so two very different atmospheres to suit your mood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
So glad that you have become one of our regulars and really appreciate the kind review.

Look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.