We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a gas.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 355 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza, Barbecue, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's a gas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a great meal with my gal, old fashioned Fish and Chips...... as good ad my mum made. Great gardens, fab staff.... A great Sunday..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review.

People do love the fish and chips and are glad that you like them.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    55
    17
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real gem - weekend favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

In Karen, virtually across the road from Karen horse riding school, tucked away is the real gem of a place. Amazing lawns, they usually open up a bouncy castle for the kids, in addition to the many permanent playground attractions.

Food and service are OK, nothing exceptional (unlike you're really into English pub sort of food), though they do have some interesting items. The marshmallow and chocolate samosas - how could you not try such a desert?! - are highly recommended.

Great place for a weekend breakfast/lunch

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the recommendation, it is much appreciated.

We are very proud of the gardens and will hopefully get some more playground attractions to keep the children entertained.

We are constantly looking to improve our food and service, and hopefully you will see some improvement in this going forward.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we genuinely appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great pub in Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Best Beef and Guinness pie in Kenya! Cold Tusker! Love the jukebox tracks! Will have to make it my local! Good job!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Purdy Arms.

We will always make sure that we have plenty of cold Tusker for you.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Husband loves Chicken Kiev!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We go here at least once a week! Good service, fun atmosphere, and the best chicken wings in town! The fillet is really great w the salad and pepper sauce, tender and juicy! Nice dining room separate from pup area so two very different atmospheres to suit your mood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
So glad that you have become one of our regulars and really appreciate the kind review.

Look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A great place with a great garden with outside seating and a great bar. Food is better than average pub grub and is very good value. Service is excellent. A very friendly and welcoming venue! Also has some rooms for B & B. I had a look at some of them and they are very nice and excellent value for the quality.
They also open for breakfast- haven't tried this yet but will give that a go soon!
Will definitely be back to try more of their menu and would recommend anyone to check out the B & B if they have a trip out to this side of Nairobi

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a kind review.

We certainly try to have a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and are so pleased that this is coming across.

We look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.