We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Karen

Osteria Karen
Windy Ridge Road, Nairobi, Kenya
0715456936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My second trip to Osteria. Having been to many resturants in Italy I beleive that this is as close to legit Italian as one can get without being in Italy. (In the US) Olive Garden is good food but it is not a real italian resturant, Ostaria is. Great wide selection, good wine list, italian beers and a great atmosphere plus great service and fair prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    9
    17
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Super great food and very authentic menu. A bit on the pricey side but well worth it. Great wine selection. A must visit while in Nairobi!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So Bad You Want To Cry....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The manager is horrible... sits at the bar ALL the time.. doesn't bother to come around at all, and has a very bad attitude! Service even if you are the only person there is slow and with an attitude. Had one really nice meal.. and they have never managed to repeat it again! So sad as has great potential.. yet sucks so badly!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“i won't say it again, i ll not go there again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

t was my 3rd time there. I kept going because the garden is very nice and it's relaxing to be there with kids but.... the food is terrible!!!!

I also did not enjoy food the 2 times before but this time it was horrible.... even a simple sghetti bolognese is not good.

The way the food is presented on the plates does not make you feel like eating.

I do'nt even understand how italians are there to eat...

We complained and they tried their best to ask for forgiveness saying we were not luck that day but 3 times is too much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the location to the food. It was pretty great. Was with family and they accommodated many of us without squeezing! The food was good and thats what we went for! :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Karen also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Karen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Karen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.