We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance in a garden setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eataly Italian Restaurant

Eataly Italian Restaurant
Windy Ridge Road, Nairobi, Kenya
715456936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 355 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ambiance in a garden setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went in a group of four and found there was a large group of tourists. So the place was busy till they left and then we had the waiters mainly to ourselves. Initial waitress who took our orders and brought chips instead of mashed potatoes, no extra vegetables which had been ordered and then peppermint tea billed as chamomile. Other that that, very pleasant garden setting with options of eating in a patio area as well as indoors. Also good place for children to run around and also take a dip in the pool. Those with wheelchairs and push chairs were well accommodated. Good variety of food and healthy portions at reasonable prices with other dishes which were also non Italian. Fruit juices were certainly fresh and one could sit out in the sun for as long as one liked. Certainly worth another visit, despite the minor hiccoughs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best place to catch a rain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful garden with a little cosy pool. Scent of magnolias around, specially in between the rains, in clear air is at euphoric-psihedelic olphactive level. The opening between the big trees is offering you a magnificent view of the clouds in the wind. And here comes the tropical rain. Suddenlly and growing fast. Vertical pouring. Growing in volume and intensity. And pool add the rain drops echo to the drum beat. And the big tent hit by the drops make the concert of the rain majesticaly as in a cathedral. The Good God of rain talking to the rain fans (right now I know only me).
I realy enjoyed.
And after half of hour the sun is there, six o clock in the afternoon, making the sky orange. You can see the rain heading to Nairobi National Park. In moments of silence, you even can hear the roars of the impredictable buffalos of the park.
And great italian food. Well seasoned, tasty and satisfactory.
Tip: if you want to go to the rest room, which is upstairs, ask for the way to the Airport!
The waiters and all staff will treat you with a totaly different polite and courtesy afterward. And to be correct, in the tree opening you can see the sliding softly of the planes returning to Wilson Base after droping hungry tourists into the hungry hurds of lions in the fantastic Kenya National parks.

Enjoy the stay in Africa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“my favourite restaurant in Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Osteria Staff is awesome... congratulations!!
my daughter, 6years old, was served first and the waiters treated her like a V.I.P. Food was great, ambience beautiful. thank you for an unforgettable evening. I know why I go there at least twice a month:-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Italian quality and taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Osteria in Karen is located at a very spacious property with mature gardens, including swimming pool.
Set at a colonial style house, sitting outside at the garden or at the terrace are perfect environment for a romantic meal or for a family gathering.
From the starters to the desert, the menu is delightful.
The italian manager is always at sight, ensuring the quality of the service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were a great big group and we had a night to remember. The staff were fabulous. The food was delicious (I had the steak) and the whole atmosphere was just happy. We were made to feel like we were the only ones in the whole restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eataly Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eataly Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eataly Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.