We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively bar, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gipsy Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gipsy Bar
Woodvale Grove. Opposite Barclays Bank | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lively bar, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Quite busy, several separate bars in one location, a nice mix of expats and locals in a lively, close to the centre of Westlands.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Accra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ok place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

went to this bar on a tuesday and it was not as busy as was told. Be careful though it has lots of hookers

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Local expat hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Friendly venue to soak some local atmosphere. Seems to be a popular local expat hangout with lots of after work groups. Decent food too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No, not for me..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have had a very very bad experience with this place. As a black woman and not a pro, it’s not a place to go…talk about stereotyping especially by the staff! While, It is true there are quite a number of ladies of the night, however being a young black female does not automatically constitute that you’re on the clock. More so, if the management are keen on keeping out “fallen women”, well sorry they have **FAILED** miserably.

Yes, it’s overpriced but that is not unique to the place.It’s a common occurrence in Nairobi. Initially when Gipsy opened a couple of years back, the food was great. That was then... now I cannot give any criticism or praise in the spirit of fairness and honesty.

This was my personal experience that may not be shared but hopefully you can get an insight on what to expect. My final words… I will never go back there even if it’s the last place on earth to survive an apocalypse :-/

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always a Fun Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The most cosmopolitan bar in Africa, from my experience thus far.
great music, good drink variety, awesome people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gipsy Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gipsy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gipsy Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.