We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine Atmosphere: like on a retreat that serves great food and warm welcome home kind if service:” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Troy Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Troy Nairobi to your Saves list
Hotel Troy Nairobi
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   73 Magadi Road | PO Box 15495-00509, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Atlanta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pristine Atmosphere: like on a retreat that serves great food and warm welcome home kind if service:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My family had a great stay at Troy. We experienced comfort on those plush mattresses and sparkling clean and white bed sheets. Dinner was tasty and for ones while in Kenya we enjoyed well spiced meals with great potions at a reasonable price. Topped all that with a friendly and courteous staff made it all better and worth our stay. You have to pay them a visit and second my opinion as well. Enjoy your stay:)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My friends and I visited Hotel Troy at the end of May (2014). The hotel is very quaint. If you need a clean, charming and safe hotel that is near a lot of the attractions in Nairobi, then this is the place. This a family owned property. The staff is very attentive and accommodating. Chris, Lucy and Winston made sure our stay was very enjoyable. Our man, Chris, provided transportation for a reasonable cost, that allowed us to see all that we wanted to see and experience without having to break the bank. Thank you, Chris!

This hotel is not a 4-5 star hotel with all the amenities of a traditional hotel may have. It is more like a really charming bed and breakfast where the staff is super nice and the food they provided was good and where you can honestly feel comfortable. I would definitely stay here again!

Thank you, Chris, Lucy and Winston for having a hand in us having an great time!! It was much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great little hotel, staff was super friendly, food was good and it is in a great location. While the rooms are a little small you aren't beating this place for the price. I would stay there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Ive been staying at Hotel Troy for one week now with my two friends and this hotel is my favourite hotel so far in Kenya! The rooms are good with big beds. Its safe to stay here,and the people working at the hotel are really nice and helpful. Its close to the giraffe center and the David Sheldrick wildlife trust. I will stay here next time I come to Kenya .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsvinger, Norway, Europe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Safe, nice rooms, and the bed where amazingly comfortable. I love it here, and it is suitable for families as well as for couples and alone travellers. Good and relaxing atmosphere. The only thing I missed was a better choice of breakfast, all I got was a toast with butter because I dont like eggs. But hey, thats a minor thing to complain about compared to other hotels! I'm very happy for choosing this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent, reasonably priced location for local attractions in Karen as well as for the airport (the hotel provides transportation). Very friendly staff, though a waiter who served on us could do with some more training. Tiny rooms, with hardly any room for your suitcases which may make repacking after your safari a wee bit tricky, very basic bathrooms, but quiet enough to sleep well. A nice, small restaurant, a limited menu yet a lovely garden to enjoy your meal. Would recommend it for a single night stay, anything longer might be a bit too long.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

In a city that is known to be dangerous and unsafe, Nairobi ( or "Nairobbery" as some people refer to it), it is nice to have a safe and quiet hotel to stay in.We landed in Nairobi airport and was pleased that we were able to get someone to pick us up from the Hotel Troy. While it is not the cheapest place to stay ( and most nice hotels in Nairobi are not cheap), it was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was reasonably good and the staff was friendly. It is close to the Nairobi National Park which is convenient if you want to visit the park. Don't be taken aback by the dirt road en route to the hotel. The numerous gates are all part of the security. I loved the sound of the birds in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Troy Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Troy Nairobi

Address: 73 Magadi Road | PO Box 15495-00509, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Troy Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Troy is a your home away from home. Located outside the city center, we offer a peaceful and calm atmosphere for business or leisure. All rooms are self contained with executive and standard rooms available. Free room service and free wireless internet is provided to all guests along with ample and secure parking. Conference facilities and events grounds are also available. We are 10 minutes away from Wilson airport and 20 minutes from JKIA. Located just minutes away from attractions such as Daphne Sheldrick Elephant Sanctuary, Nairobi National Park, Mamba Village, Giraffe center and Karen Blixen Museum makes staying with us ideal and enjoyable for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Troy Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Troy Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.