We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Authentic African Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaica The Restaurant

Amaica The Restaurant
Getathuru Garden | Off Peponi road, Nairobi 00100 GPO, Kenya
+254-724-477663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 316 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, Authentic African Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited Amaica Westlands on Easter Saturday and were blown away. The service was excellent and our server understood the dishes and was able to make very good recommendations.

We had the fried beef with Chapati, Whole Fried Tilapia with Brown Wimbi Ugali and traditional greens. The food came in a very timely manner - a half hour from ordering - and the portions were massive. I couldn't finish mine though I have a healthy appetite.

The starters seemed delicious and we settled for the chicken wings which though small, were delicious and mouthwatering. We washed all this down with fresh passion and mango juice.

The table came to KES 3,600 - very reasonable for a well served meal for two.

The ambience is excellent - The decor is traditional African and outside, the restaurant is surrounded by trees through which vervet monkeys swing and play all day long.

I was apprehensive as I had read some not so good reviews about the place but after our Easter experience, I am all in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    4
    7
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Food poisoning alert”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Visited with a group of 6 friends, most of all who've suffered extreme food poisoning. Avoid!

Service was poor and staff had to be repeatedly reminded about orders. Food portions were not that great considering the prices and the food was not tasty. Overall a very poor dining experience further exacerbated by the food poisoning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant - Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My sister & I visited the restaurant & were warmly welcomed by friendly, professional staff. We asked to be shown the place & they gladly obliged. The food was excellent. The staff & the owner unobtrusively attended to our needs. I highly recommend the establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Variable.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our first trip to Amaica as an absolute disaster. Granted, they had just opened. More than half the menu not available so we agreed to the chef's recommendation. We were then charged Mzungu/tourist prices at close to 3000/Kshs a person. Absolutely absurd given that we were served on literal oven trays covered in foil.
Months later we decided to try it again as a friend had chosen it to cater her wedding. Food was good, and atmosphere lovely. They'd also improved on their oven tray presentation. However they later charged the bride and groom by plated (after non-wedding guests served themselves and without explaining that folks could use different plates for different courses - really? on a buffet? to take a dirty plate for a second course?). They later presented bride and groom for a bar tab (for their PERSONAL consumption, not others) of over 20,000 Kshs when drinks were (appropriately) purchased FOR them all night and the tab included liquors they abhor. If they ran a tab for others, they should have followed up accordingly or refused tabs, esp. considering how many non-wedding guests were bellied up to the bar.
So.... long and short. If I had friends in town who had never had E African / Kenyan food, I MIGHT bring them here as their food is actually quite good. But I'd triple check the bill. Note that the drop down menu only allows me to select one visit but I have been more than once.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Real African cuisine for almost every pocket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

It took me a couple of months to visit Amaica as my Kenyan friends would call it "very good but very expensive". Only half of that turned out to be true.
The ambiance is acceptable even if the chairs could be more comfortable. You have a choice of either hard wood chairs or armchairs which don't make the eating very easy. But this is where the issues end.
The menu offers a very wide selection of regional, Kenyan dishes including quite unusual ones such as fried white flying ants. A must try :) We checked fried gizzards with the hottest chilli dip on the planet, forest mushrooms in peanut sauce, quail skewers with matoke banana on the side. Delicious. Go very well with Guinness.
The service was very efficient and knowledgeable about all dishes. Waiting time - 10 minutes for the starters and almost no break before main. Combined with traditional, African smile made the whole experience truly pleasant.
Final bill? USD 45 for two, including drinks. Not too bad...
Next time you are in Nairobi, ignore Carnivore with its fake African feel. Amaica rulz.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaica The Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amaica The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaica The Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.