We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real African cuisine for almost every pocket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaica The Restaurant

Amaica The Restaurant
Getathuru Garden | Off Peponi road, Nairobi 00100 GPO, Kenya
+254-724-477663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Real African cuisine for almost every pocket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

It took me a couple of months to visit Amaica as my Kenyan friends would call it "very good but very expensive". Only half of that turned out to be true.
The ambiance is acceptable even if the chairs could be more comfortable. You have a choice of either hard wood chairs or armchairs which don't make the eating very easy. But this is where the issues end.
The menu offers a very wide selection of regional, Kenyan dishes including quite unusual ones such as fried white flying ants. A must try :) We checked fried gizzards with the hottest chilli dip on the planet, forest mushrooms in peanut sauce, quail skewers with matoke banana on the side. Delicious. Go very well with Guinness.
The service was very efficient and knowledgeable about all dishes. Waiting time - 10 minutes for the starters and almost no break before main. Combined with traditional, African smile made the whole experience truly pleasant.
Final bill? USD 45 for two, including drinks. Not too bad...
Next time you are in Nairobi, ignore Carnivore with its fake African feel. Amaica rulz.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The greatest disappointment in Nairobi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Only once we (family of 4) tried to check what made Amaica different from other Nairobi restaurants and we were all shocked with price for regular orange juice (ksh 400- usd 5) for one dl of diluted orange juice. What they tried to introduce as an "authentic Kenyan cuisine" turned to be terribly overpriced medioce food - service was no better... Any house help can make 3 times better food for a fraction of their price. We made sure that all our visitors from Europe avoid Amaica because as there is no value for money. As simple as that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not very impressive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

i attended a party there and it was a disappointment, food was mediocre, service bad, food is very very very expensive then it tastes like what your house girl would cook.
if your a tourist try it out & to get to know what Kenyan food is about,
if your a resident go eat somewhere else
overall i would not come back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“dishonest owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Yes, the food is good, and great setting, but beware of dishonest practices. The quoted prices were not even close to the final billing, they tried to force us to pay a $200 (US) "credit fee", grossly overcharged on the bar tab, and when we presented the owner with the discrepencies, she would not dispute them, but still insisted on the grossly inflated tab. I was told by a Kenyan at the restaurant that night that this happens frequently with foreign visitors.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to bring groups of friends or business colleagues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I brought a group of friends and business colleagues to Amaica and we had a wonderful experience. Charming atmosphere and staff. I highly recommend the buffet. It allowed our guest to try a wide variety of Kenyan dishes. The staff explained how the dishes were prepared and menu is very extensive. I will be bringing more visitors. Next time I will also plan a visit in the late afternoon to shop at Spinner's Web (next door) then go to Amaica for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaica The Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amaica The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaica The Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.