We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Nyama choma joint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Max Land

Max Land
Mahiga Mairu Ave, just off Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Regular Nyama choma joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Awesome Nyama choma but quality of the rest has dipped. ordering regular food will not get you much satisfaction.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Callaway, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A true Kenyan nyama choma experience!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I love nyama choma and always looking for a local non touristy spot in Nairobi to give it a go.
Went to Max Land the later part of March and it for sure fulfilled my expectations and tons of well cooked goat and also a side of roasted potatoes. The meat was excellent and could not finish it all. And the price point for so much good meat was super.
Setting not the greatest, but who cares as long as the food is good. Service was just fine, the only think I missed and this is true of many nyama choma places is the lack of pork choices as I love the addition of pork ribs.
If in Kenya and in Nairobi I would highly recommend Max Land as a place to try.

Jim from Minnesota

www.maplelag.com

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“One of the best Nyama Choma joint around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

In Kenya barbecued goat meat is the national dish, so you can find it almost everywhere. There are, though, not many places that provide you the relaxed local atmosphere of the Choma kiosks with good clean environment and decent service. Max land is one of these. The menu is very traditional: barbecued chicken, goat, or beef with ugali, potatoes or tomatoes on the side. Don’t expect anything fancy, but all is well cooked and served.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Best nyama choma in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Most likely the best nyama choma in town. Sit with the locals, have a cold tusker or two, enjoy the expertly grilled goat served with ugali. Chicken and beef are great as well, but the goat is where its at. I love the chicken gizzards here.

There is also a car wash and salon in the same premises, which adds to its charm.

Definitely a hot local spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not enough choice and slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

They only had chicken and goat when we went. The chicken pieces were very small - although well cooked - and chips soggy. Good salad, but everything very slow indeed, and why did we have loud tv coverage of a political committee hearing on? Not a good ambience unless that's your obsession, and there wasn't much sign of that around us

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Land also viewed

 

Been to Max Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.