We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our secound visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Restaurant and Lounge

Oro Restaurant and Lounge
Statehouse Crescent | Off Statehouse Avenue, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
+254-202635556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 352 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ORO Restaurant and Lounge NairobiDark wood, hints of gold, subtle lighting and a sense of intimacy are your invitation into ORO. Meaning ‘Gold’, ORO is Nairobi’s newest Oasis. Located in the tranquil suburb of State House it offers an escape from the city bustle. Exuding subtle elegance it provides the perfect atmosphere for a convivial catch up or romantic dinner and is ideal for Lunch or an after work drink for those working in the CBD and its environs.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Our secound visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We were here last week, and came back today. The food was still very good! Last time we wrote a review of the restaurant and today the manager came to our table to yell at us for for writing it. It was a bit uncomfortable, and we did not feel welcome there even though we wrote a good review(that was why we came back). If restaurants have "membership only" rules, they should not have let us come in both times. Still, the food, the cocktail, and the waiter was really good, but the manager should not treat customers that way!

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiokov, Owner at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear Anette J,
I am grateful for your feedback and would like to apologise in advance for any inconvenience caused.
I assure you that we are taking your claim very seriously as this has never happened before in our restaurant and we would like to nip at the bud any such behaviour.
As we investigate further into the matter i would appreciate that you get in touch with me directly on info@unlimiteddirections.com .
Awaiting to hear from you,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Very good pizza, excellent service and a very nice place. A bit expencive. If you're a local you have to become a member of the club to enter the resturant, but when we explained that we're only tourists we didn't have to sign up to enter.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Slow service and bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went to oro over the weekend the waitress took 40 mins to ask me what I wanted to eat and the starter took 40 minutes to arrive another 40 mins for the food a very long lunch which was annoying the food as well was very average not worth the money paid for when the desert came the ice cream was all melted and dripping of the plate... good place for sundowners and drinks not a meal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good for special events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the second time I have taken my wife to this restaurant. The first time was last year during valentine's day. The service is 1st class, the place is very quiet and safe.
My wife is someone who is very particular and she does not go back to a place which is not really top class. This one she can go back even a 3rd time.

We have gone to several restaurants in Nairobi and outside Kenya, and I would recommend this one.
Avoid when its crowded like end month on Fridays since its within a very exclusive area and the parking is limited.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

One thing ORO gets right, is ambience. Perfect for after work or pre-party drinks or late dinner with mates. Definitely becoming a regular.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Oro Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oro Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.