We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for special events” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Restaurant and Lounge

Oro Restaurant and Lounge
Statehouse Crescent | Off Statehouse Avenue, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
+254-202635556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ORO Restaurant and Lounge NairobiDark wood, hints of gold, subtle lighting and a sense of intimacy are your invitation into ORO. Meaning ‘Gold’, ORO is Nairobi’s newest Oasis. Located in the tranquil suburb of State House it offers an escape from the city bustle. Exuding subtle elegance it provides the perfect atmosphere for a convivial catch up or romantic dinner and is ideal for Lunch or an after work drink for those working in the CBD and its environs.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good for special events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the second time I have taken my wife to this restaurant. The first time was last year during valentine's day. The service is 1st class, the place is very quiet and safe.
My wife is someone who is very particular and she does not go back to a place which is not really top class. This one she can go back even a 3rd time.

We have gone to several restaurants in Nairobi and outside Kenya, and I would recommend this one.
Avoid when its crowded like end month on Fridays since its within a very exclusive area and the parking is limited.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

One thing ORO gets right, is ambience. Perfect for after work or pre-party drinks or late dinner with mates. Definitely becoming a regular.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quite something”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was looking for something new to try when i stumbled on this place.Not bad considering they're relatively new.The food wasn't all that and i was even disappointed more by the exorbitant prices.All in all,quite a good experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Long wait, wrong order average food ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Last night my wife and I decided to try Oro despite some of the very varying reviews. When we arrived in our small Nissan we were refused to enter as the 'parking was full'. However when we entered there were plenty of parking space... Was our car too basic?
The interior design of the lounge itself is pleasant even if somewhat stale and the music was a bit odd (noisy) for a lounge. We went to the bar and greeted the staff but were not advised where to sit. After a 15 min wait we had to look for a waiter to be given the menu. The food came after around 45 min. Unfortunately the waiter got the order wrong but after the long wait we decided to have what was served. The pork was definitely not bad, but the chicken was dry. In all fairness the restaurant offered free ice cream for messing up the order.
We wouldn't go back to eat, but not a bad place for a pre-party drink. Better training of the staff probably warranted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Apart from the super efficient staff at Oro, the food is very tasty. The presentation of the food is attractive to the eye. And the ambience makes one just want to stay on and on. The menu is very creative and they must have an excellent chef executing it. I'm definitely going back and spreading the word!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Oro Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oro Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.