We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Restaurant and Lounge

Oro Restaurant and Lounge
Statehouse Crescent | Off Statehouse Avenue, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
+254-202635556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ORO Restaurant and Lounge NairobiDark wood, hints of gold, subtle lighting and a sense of intimacy are your invitation into ORO. Meaning ‘Gold’, ORO is Nairobi’s newest Oasis. Located in the tranquil suburb of State House it offers an escape from the city bustle. Exuding subtle elegance it provides the perfect atmosphere for a convivial catch up or romantic dinner and is ideal for Lunch or an after work drink for those working in the CBD and its environs.
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've been trying out quite a few restaurant here in Nairobi but I must say that ORO is by far one of the most efficient and (as title) OUTSTANDING! Service was impeccable, food is amazing and the waiters are very polite and efficient.
If I had to suggest, go for the stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon... Simply DELICIOUS!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Jean Marie C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Oro.

It is always a pleasure receiving such positive comments from our guests, and we are delighted you had the chance to taste our Stuffed Chicken Wrapped in Bacon…always a favorite!

The Oro team is looking forward to hosting you again soon.

With kind regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    13
    7
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor service, long wait for food, in the end did not get what we ordered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have been at Oro a couple of times before this when they were still relatively new and it was great. Not sure if the laziness bug has caught up with them or they were just having a bad day this time round. Decided to have lunch there on Sunday, 23rd Feb. There was only one other person in the restaurant and she wasn't eating so we figured it would be quick. We wanted a quick lunch, so we both ordered burgers and chips. Ordered at around 2.30pm, by 3.30pm food was still not served. After checking with the waitress they eventually bring out the food more than an hour later. And to our shock and disappointment, they didn't serve us the burger. They served some meat on four slices of cold white bread that tasted like it had been bought from the kiosk next door.
We asked the waitress what the issue was and why the burger was more like a sandwich I'd make at home and she said it's not her issue its an issue with the kitchen because apparently the pastry chef was not around therefore there were no buns available. What rubbish, she works for the restaurant and should have informed us what was available and not available. Not make assumptions on what we can accept as alternatives. Needless to say, I did not enjoy my lunch and refused to pay the full amount for whatever it was we were served. They have definitely lost two customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Nonoks,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Oro. We would sincerely like to apologize to you and your guest for the poor experience you had with us on Sunday.

As you had clearly mentioned, the restaurant only had one other guest at the time you placed your order; however, I would like to point out that we do also cater to our in-house guests who are able to order room service from us.

In terms of our waitress's response to you being served toast rather than burger buns, we do apologize as this is completely unacceptable, not only from the waitress, but as well from our kitchen. We take pride in making sure each and every customer is feeling satisfied and most importantly content with their experience at Oro, and unfortunately we let you down this time.

I can see from your review that you have eaten at Oro in the past, and we appreciate your positive feedback with regards to your previous experiences with us. We would very much like to earn your custom again and would be grateful if you would get in touch with us on 020.263.55.43 to give us the opportunity to show you that we are committed to giving our guests a truly wonderful experience each and every time they dine with us.

We would like to thank you for holding us to the very highest of standards, and would be appreciative if you allow us to turn this negative experience into a positive one for you and your guest.

With warm regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“How can I rate the food when we didn't get any?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived at 8:30pm.
1 hour and 40 minutes later we left having not eaten anything.
It's nairobi restaurant week.
This is embarrasing to say the least. Nobody apologised, or said anything at any point other than 'we've had a small problem,' which was about 50 minutes into our visit.
I'm assuming Oro is short for 'Orrible experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Devonteacher,

We would sincerely like to apologize for the unacceptable experience you had at ORO. We are committed to ensuring that you have a great experience when dining with us, and unfortunately we let you down this time.

Your feedback is very much appreciated, and we have looked into the issues you have raised with our entire team. I wish to assure you that we have taken steps to ensure that this is never repeated.

I would also like to request that if you are in Nairobi (or next time you are around) you get in touch with us on 020-2635543 so that we can see how we can make it up to you. Apologies once again and we hope you will give us another chance to give you the ORO experience you came to expect from us.

With Warm Regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Like the name of the name it is located Gem suites this place is a gem. Amazing food and very very good service from the moment you arrive. Will definately go back and recommend!!! Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Miss Kui,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and really appreciate the positive feedback regarding our service. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon at ORO Restaurant & Lounge!
With warm regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“business lunch at Oro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

After researching lunch locations in Nairobi and finding many positive reviews of Oro I decided to recommend it for my business lunch yesterday. It was the best choice. The location (although probably better set up for an evening out with friends) was great. It was clean and welcoming. the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. The location is so convenient for me--I will definitely be back.

The downside: Oro is difficult to find, there isn't one sign post. It required two stops for inquiries in order to find the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ghanaian_in_nairobi,
Thank you for your wonderful review on your experience at ORO Restaurant & Lounge. We are delighted you enjoyed your business lunch, and highly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our friendly staff and delicious food. Apologies for the difficulties in finding us; we are currently working on putting an ORO sign outside to enable our guests to find us easier. The ORO team is looking forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again soon!
With warm regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Oro Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oro Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.