We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business lunch at Oro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Restaurant and Lounge

Oro Restaurant and Lounge
Statehouse Crescent | Off Statehouse Avenue, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
+254-202635556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ORO Restaurant and Lounge NairobiDark wood, hints of gold, subtle lighting and a sense of intimacy are your invitation into ORO. Meaning ‘Gold’, ORO is Nairobi’s newest Oasis. Located in the tranquil suburb of State House it offers an escape from the city bustle. Exuding subtle elegance it provides the perfect atmosphere for a convivial catch up or romantic dinner and is ideal for Lunch or an after work drink for those working in the CBD and its environs.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“business lunch at Oro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

After researching lunch locations in Nairobi and finding many positive reviews of Oro I decided to recommend it for my business lunch yesterday. It was the best choice. The location (although probably better set up for an evening out with friends) was great. It was clean and welcoming. the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. The location is so convenient for me--I will definitely be back.

The downside: Oro is difficult to find, there isn't one sign post. It required two stops for inquiries in order to find the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ghanaian_in_nairobi,
Thank you for your wonderful review on your experience at ORO Restaurant & Lounge. We are delighted you enjoyed your business lunch, and highly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our friendly staff and delicious food. Apologies for the difficulties in finding us; we are currently working on putting an ORO sign outside to enable our guests to find us easier. The ORO team is looking forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again soon!
With warm regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    13
    7
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
“Great Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Good for a girlie catch up. Staff very friendly and attentive. Outside area was nice, had lunch inside, a bit cold outside. Prices very reasonable. Inside feels very much like a hotel sadly a bit sterile, but would go again to check it out just for drinks in evening .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear 232Truth7,
Thank you for your review on your experience with us at ORO Restaurant &
Lounge. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch, and we are looking forward to
hosting you again soon.
With Kind Regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After reading the reviews here, I decided to give it a try for my friend's birthday dinner and we were not disappointed. From the lighting as you walk in that is draped on the bamboo, to the ambiance in the restaurant and to the food. Job well done! My friend had the oriental pork ribs with chunky chips which were quite sumptuous and I had red snapper and mashed potatoes which was also quite tasty.
My only issue with it was the rather slow service (there were only 2 waiters for the entire restaurant), the fact that they do not have those nice wallets/trays to put your bill in (the waiter brought it by hand) and they did not have fish knives.
Loved the experience there and will definitely be back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear KenyanFoodCritic,
We love food critics as they keep us on our toes all the times! Thanks for your review and for appreciating our food. All well noted….

We have just sent for fish knives, the floor manager is on board and the menu folder and bill folders have been designed and ordered. Looking forward to see you soon and thank you for motivating us to excellence. Warm regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Calm and relaxing restaurant with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

ORO which I learned means Gold in italian is a treasure for those that like a venue that has great ambiance, a sense of intimacy and service that feels very personalized. Whether at the main bar, the dining section or outdoor patio one cannot help feel their troubles slip away. With soothing lounge music, great decor and an understated elegance it is definitely a treat to the senses.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Christian,
thank you for having been our guest for several evenings. But also thank you for such detailed and positive review. We look forward to having you dining with us again during your next visit to Nairobi.
With warm regards
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I visited this place 2 weekends ago and wait staff just disappeared on us so we walked off.I decided to give it another try and had the most enjoyable dinner today.
I ordered the tomato soup and the masala fish,my wife ordered the chicken Tikka.I am not a dessert person but food was was so good a Tarrmisu dessert was great way to round off the evening.Service was great and so was the meal that I have invited some friend to join me there for drinks and dinner on Friday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are glad that you and your wife had ‘the most enjoyable evening.’ We are glad that you loved the food and even got to try the dessert. We promise you will never have to walk off again as we have increased our waiting team to ensure that there is always a dedicated person to serve you every time you come to Oro. See you (and your friends) Friday evening and we will strive to make it yet another unforgettable evening at Oro.
See you shortly....
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Oro Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oro Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.