We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Restaurant and Lounge

Oro Restaurant and Lounge
Statehouse Crescent | Off Statehouse Avenue, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
+254-202635556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 327 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ORO Restaurant and Lounge NairobiDark wood, hints of gold, subtle lighting and a sense of intimacy are your invitation into ORO. Meaning ‘Gold’, ORO is Nairobi’s newest Oasis. Located in the tranquil suburb of State House it offers an escape from the city bustle. Exuding subtle elegance it provides the perfect atmosphere for a convivial catch up or romantic dinner and is ideal for Lunch or an after work drink for those working in the CBD and its environs.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

After a dismal meal the previous night at the Intercontinental, I braved the traffic and the rain to eat at the Oro Restaurant. I was not disappointed. The food was great, and the service terrific. I had the sweet pork ribs with rosemary potatoes and seasonl veg. I scraped up every last morsel. I just wish the menu had a few more options... cos I could happily eat here more often

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaar G, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Bill,
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Our Chef is currently working on a new menu which we will be launching soon and will be inviting you and your friends to come and try out. We look forward to welcoming you and serving you at the 'Oro Restaurant & Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant, amazing chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous and cosy ambience. Great food. A truly haute cuisine chef. I hear she was with the famous Olive Bar and Kitchen in New Delhi. Looking forward to new things to come.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oro Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The initial things that you notice in this new uptown address is the
beautiful elegant interior, the cozy seating and the outstanding waiting
staff. the food is very exquisite variety of dishes beautifully presented and delicious.
I enjoyed my Spaghetti alla Carbonara and my partner had the chef's special chicken.

We will surely come back to enjoy ourselves at ORO with good wine and
dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great mojitos! superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'd been hearing about these mojito nights at ORO, and something about last week told me that i must go and check it out! its not everyday i go to places solo but first things first, well received by the reception and welcome to this really well done place! simple, contemporary, ultimately classy! loved the mojitos and the grilled fish was simply out of the ordinary! cant wait for wednesday!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!! Just Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Received a Facebook mid-week Mojito Night invite and of course it being a dull week, I had the need to call up my gang to get entertained!!! The reception was amazing!

From the gate to the lounge! The security seemed thorough as the Lounge is in the midst of services apartments and is fairly new. (Well it being next to the president’s house it had to be)

The Mojito's were flowing as I was ordering one after the other and with the chef enticing me with the free absolutely delish samosa bitings and bruschetta! The food was also great as I ordered an Al Pepenero.

What struck me the most was the ambience of the total strangers who were guests and the management that we met and hit it of like long time buddies with engaging conversation and entertainment!! Not only did I go there for a mid-week alcoholic requirement, but also made new friends!!!

I am definitely coming back next week and every week for Mojito night!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Oro Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oro Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.