We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family hangout, food and Drinks. (A party as well)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Radar

Under The Radar
Argwings Kodhek Road, | 76690 -00508, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
726451053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for a Family hangout, food and Drinks. (A party as well)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a place I will never get tired of. The garden setting is amazing for a sunny afternoon or even a nice evening out as the amazing lighting of the place at night is usually exquisite. It is located on my way home and most of the times I usually find myself passing there even if its just for a cocktail or a meal. The place looks bright and alive at night due to the wonderful deco and lighting done. The gardens are well kept with strategic tables set covered by 'tents' which can be covered in case one wants privacy from the others. It has an outside dinning area next to a bar but one can also choose the inside area according to preference. There is also an executive lounge you can book for that exclusive party you want to throw, we did that once for my friends party. The serene is simply amazing and offers a choice of indoor or outdoor. Not forgetting to mention the food. Their ribs are my best delicacy, and yes with the all you can eat offer, I find myself there most Saturdays. This place is accommodating to both all as children also can enjoy other activities mostly during the day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    1
    9
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went there with my Wife and daughter and we all loved it. Even respectable members of our Parliament were there. There is enough fun for the young ones, you don't have to worry where they are since security is very goood.

The food is nice although a bit pricy but quality is excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden but worth while experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Tried this place on a Sunday afternoon. Certainly tucked away next to a security company and have driven past a number of times without noticing it. The outside tables were monopolized by families illustrating its child friendly environment, with a supervised playground nearby. We sat near the bar area away from the mid day sun. Both of us had grilled tilapia with steamed vegetables. Fruit juice choice was rather limited. Did not try out the dessert but had a pleasant masala tea instead. Waiters were polite and accommodating, at the same time providing instant choirs for two children's birthday choruses. A very relaxed environment and one could not hear the traffic. Would go earlier in future to sit under the trees although jacaranda trees
were in bloom and their flowers were falling on tables. Meal was reasonably priced and the place is worth trying for an evening meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Dinner at under the radar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently visited this restaurant that is conveniently located near yaya shopping mall. The seats are very comfortable and the ambiance is quite welcoming. There is a nice play area for kids which has Tyre swings from trees, swings, slide, trampolines and bouncy castles and space to run around. The waiter was attentive when taking orders and the food came fairly quickly. The steamed veges that came with the meal were very little but we were given an extra side plate at no extra charge. However the pork chops were dry, chewy and lacked flavor. Some of the lyonnaise potatoes were slightly undercooked. My friend had fish masala and steamed rice and hers was perfectly seasoned and quite a generous quantity. Maybe the chef who cooked my meal was having a bad day :-). All in all i was a nice evening and i would go back again but am keeping off the pork next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, good service and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant has a beautiful outdoor setup with a very nice play area for kids. The service is professional yet personal.

The menu is very expansive and offers a lot of choice. We found the quality of the food to be very good. Will definitely come back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under The Radar also viewed

Been to Under The Radar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Radar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.