We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner at Under The Radar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Radar

Under The Radar
Argwings Kodhek Road, | Next to Radar Security, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
+254 705 949254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 338 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely dinner at Under The Radar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friends and I had a lovely evening here. The food, wine, atmosphere and service were great! It was slightly chilly outside and the staff were kind enough to set up a few small charcoal fires around our 'banda' to warm us up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Romantic Dinner done perfectly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife surprised me with a Valentine dinner at the restaurant and I must say I was really blown away. The decor was great, and the food was exquisite. Entertainment was soothing, was wishing it didn't have to end. But the services although friendly was very slow, orders were taking forever.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Loved their mushroom sauce on toasted bread. Great ambiance and a good place too cool off after work. The service is quite slow though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Appearances are Deceptive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I tried out Under the Radar this morning, after having driven past it a no. of times, and what started out as a great experience, ended on a sour, hungry note. They have a lovely outdoor set-up and a well equipped and clean children's play area, which is what had attracted me in the first place. My kids loved it and were hard at play for a good 2.5 hours until getting food proved to be an impossible task. Despite following-up on our order severally and numerous promises by the waitress (who wasn't being honest about the reasons for the
delay), 1 hour and 15 minutes later we still hadn't been served!! This considering we were the first to place an order once the kitchen opened!?! The manager on duty (Alvin I think) looked perturbed when I notified him, but offered no apology nor suggested any solutions, and we eventually left hungry and disappointed. Suffice it to say, we'll wait for a change in management before we go there again.

P.S Since we never got to taste the food, I assumed the worst in rating it

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bad service spoilt an otherwise good evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a company event here & everything else other than the service was good.

The food was delicious, the indoor setting was lovely, nice ambiance in the outdoor "banda's"

This was all brought down by the wait staff - we couldnt get anything on time. They were so confused, i gave up on getting juice after asking different servers severally. The bar tender couldnt open a wine 2L box & someone from our team had to do it. Once we were done with dinner we were left with dirty tables.

It was such a let down after an otherwise lovely evening

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under The Radar also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Under The Radar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Radar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.