We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Calm, safe, chic, comfortable, excellent friendly service from the staff and excellent food. My room was perfectly laid out, in my opinion one of the best designed rooms I have ever stayed in. Beautiful egyptian cotton sheets and towels, a dressing area that was very spacious and well set out. WIFI great stable and fast,

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms will be excellent....if you struggle to walk then ask for a room closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    22
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
50
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

is a wonderfull place to be fresh air the place is great excellent service,clean, great dinning area, quite, ...............................................................................................................just great

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hemingways is a very nice hotel in a lovely area. Very safe and gorgeous grounds. The rooms come with a butler who will tend to your every need. There is daily laundry service, which is essential for me. They are timely and organized. The concierge (Margaret?) was extremely friendly, capable and helpful. There are golf carts available for room transportation, if needed. I preferred to walk the gorgeous grounds. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. Dining is available indoors or outdoors. There are heat lamps and a portable if you're extra cold (that's me!). The wait staff is very nice, but the service was extremely slow every time we were there. That could be due to the kitchen staff. I don't believe it was the wait staff. The food delivery had taken a ridiculous amount of time every time. And the food was mediocre every time. That could use work. The suites are very nice and clean. Extremely well maintained. The bathroom has two separate sinks and the toilet is private. The shower has great pressure and they will have lotion and conditioning shampoo for you. I'm not a fan of conditioning shampoo. I believe in separating the two, as do many people. I do appreciate finer hotels who have a very nice shampoo and conditioner and lotion line. There is a mini bar and a couch at the end of the bed. A trunk is used as a coffee table and the TV is hidden in it, automatically emerging at the touch of a button. The pool is a perfect size and was never overcrowded when I was there. There is a wonderful steam room and they will put in some eucalyptus if you ask. The showers are very nice. Everything is impeccably maintained. There is also a workout room. The entrance and lobby are gorgeous with a spiraling staircase and windows that fully open to the outdoor seating. I had a wonderful deep tissue massage. I do recommend this hotel whole heartedly. They only need to improve their cuisine and serving time. They would have received 5 stars...

Room Tip: I stayed in the lovely William Holden room and another, but don't remember the name. They were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Outofdodge_10

Thank you for your review; it is much appreciated; we do prepare all our food fresh from order and this may take some time depending on the dishes ordered. In any case we shall surely look into this and hope to see you again soon at Hemingways Nairobi.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I live in Nairobi, and we selected this hotel for a two-day meeting. My room was well-appointed, all the meals and breaks were delicious, the grounds were quiet and lovely, and the service was excellent--attentive but not over-the-top. That said, the prices are on par with the quality--it is not a bargain, but you pay for quality and you get quality. All of our meeting guests and staff were very pleased. Personally, the decor of colonial-era Kenya was a bit off-putting (if you don't know the history of Kenya, it's probably charming and well-done) but, I mean, the name of the place is Hemingways, so…not a surprise, I guess. Finally, for the tourist, it is not near the city, so be prepared for long commutes if you are headed into town. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing spot outside the city and have a generous budget, this may be your spot.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear D L

I am glad to hear that your meeting went well and all your delegates enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to hosting you again should the opportunity avail itself.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the best New Year's Eve celebration we have had in a very long time. Hemmingways needs to be commended for all the effort they made in creating a magnificent dining area for the event; the lights, table decor and room decor were all very tastefully done. The ambience was great and very romantic. We had an eight course dinner with complimentary welcome cocktails. Each dish was beautiful in taste and presentation and despite catering for a large crowd, the chef put a lot of TLC into his cooking. There was a DJ and though the music was rather outdated, they tried to please everyone the best they could. The New Year was welcomed with everyone united on the dance floor. What a lovely, magical and fun night we had. Thank you to the managers and the team! Happy New Year!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear smatlock10

Thank you for visiting Hemingways Nairobi. It was our pleasure to have you with us once again and thanks for your feedback; it is much appreciated. We are delighted the night was a success and look forward to many more.

Once again, thanks and look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dropped by for afternoon tea. Disappointed not to be able to have high tea (sandwiches, cakes, pastries etc), but did have lovely tea and biscuits along with superb home made ice cream so can't complain. Our server Julius was charming and conscientious. A treat.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear SC59

Many thanks for your kind feedback on Julius and your experience at Hemingways Nairobi. I do hope you will be able to visit us again for afternoon tea which we serve every day apart from Sunday.

Best regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The brasserie is not what you would expect from a Hemingways estblishment. There are many waiters, perhaps too many, who are well meaning but don't seem to know about customer satisfaction and pay attention to you. Orders take too long to be executed (and the amateurish antiquated way of bringing food and drinks on trays, which seems to be the norm in Kenya in general; for Good sake teach servants to carry plates and cutlery without trays!). The backgrorund music was too loud and reminded you of being in a disco, not in an atmoshpere for a dinner conversation. Mosquitoes are a huge annuisance. Food is ok, but not the best. The créme brulée had no vanilla taste at all, just sweet eggs. It seems you have to make up your mind about the restaurant being for hotel guest only or not, because coming there to have a meal is not value for money or time, I'm sorry to say.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear AndrewAuster

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of your concerns and we shall look into each one you have raised. We pride ourselves on all aspects of Hemingways Nairobi and take great care to ensure The Brasserie caters to hotel residents as well as non-staying guests.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.