We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New Colonial-Style Hotel That Gets It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brand New Colonial-Style Hotel That Gets It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to my work as a Africa travel designer every year I visit a fair amount of luxury accommodation in safari destinations in the continent.

A couple of weeks ago I visited Hemingways Nairobi and I must confess I had to ask when exactly was the hotel built: 17 months ago. Besides some cheap furniture and still lacking soul (I hope the former will be sorted once they break even and the latter will definately be fixed with the passage of time) Hemingways Nairobi is "the real thing" for a Westerner travelling to the land of dreams that is Africa.

Other hotels have tried to bring to the 21st century the look and feel of The Victoria Falls Hotel but failed. To date, my money is on Hemingways Nairobi.

The double stairs and oversized ceiling in the lobby reminisces of the tycoon trophy homes of Joburg's Sandton. The rooms (executive room on the first floor) are large, well lit and with beautiful views over the manicured garden. George, the butler who showed us around, was impeccable, knowledgeable and always, always willing to assist. The rest of the staff, ready and professional.

We had lunch under the shade in the garden and while enjoying some delicious gnocci I started thinking of the bright future ahead for this city.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    18
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
46
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virgin Gorda
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After Wonderful,day at Karen blixen we dropped at Hemingway for dinner, it was the best in many ways, the environment was welcoming, the services was great and personalized thank to Eric. and another gentlemen i cant remember the name. looking forward to see you again in 2 months time

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hemingways feels surreal it's so over the top. You can see how much money was put into this property upon walking into the lobby. Everything is large and opulent. The lobby's bathroom alone must've cost $5000 with all the marble and high-end fixtures. The rooms feature an opulently comfortable bed with private balconies. The bathroom was a delight with its tub, separate tiled shower, two sinks and wood-paneled closet. The singing, shrill frogs in the garden ponds may keep you awake at night if you're a light sleeper so bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room so you can see the view of the Ngong Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had the pleasure of staying here as the first stop on our week in Kenya. This hotel after a long plane ride from London was an absolute delight.
As a first timer to Kenya we had not had the pleasure of enjoying the fabulous Kenyan hospitality before, and our Safari was to be just more icing on the cake, but Hemingways is a super place to start.
Ultra sleek, sexy, clean, and sophisticated Hemingway's might very well be the best hotel I have ever stayed, and while it is not a resort, it is an oasis.

Set outside the hustle of Nairobi, Hemingways is a very good, ultra modern layover or business hotel. The rooms are as advertised. Beautiful, and rewarding. The staff is extremely well trained and attentive, and the ever present smile of the local staff is amazing.

Arriving as we did, rather late at night, we were offered their 24 hour available room service for a dinner snack which was provided in short order.
Allowing for another day of rest before we headed out, we spent the next day roaming the grounds when we were to run across Richard Evans, Chairman of the Hemingway Group who, upon hearing that we were on a honeymoon trip, insisted that we be upgraded to the Presidential Suite, which we were.
Amazing then turned to UNREAL!

We are not the sort to chince on a few special memories that might be thrown at you in life, and the trip to East Africa was no exception, but alas, to have someone such as Mr. Evans, who didn't know us, suddenly show such wonderful generosity so far from our home was a real treat, and a memory that we won't soon forget.

The Presidential Suite, known as The Hemingway Suite is an amazing three room enclave, boasting three full veranda rooms overlooking the amazing (sorry for that word again) terraced lawns and gardens that make up the center courtyard.

The weather was incredible which only added to the special feeling that Hemingways provides and with room to spare in the standard suites provided, we now had room to spread out, and then some.
Mr. Evans, I am quite sure you don't remember us, but thank you!
You have a lovely property. It was our great pleasure to share it.

Hemingways wont disappoint. A bit pricey but worth the extra for an experience you wont regret.
5 stars and two big thumbs up.
Try it you will like it!

Room Tip: this is an all suite hotel so the standard rooms are quite generous in space and furnishings. Some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hemingways thank you for the amazing birthday dinner. All the 30 guests had a great time. The room set up and decor exceeded expectations. It was serene and intimate just as we wanted. The personalized menu showed an extra touch of care. Most importantly was the delicious food that was served on time. Your staff were diligent and very caring. Special thanks to Sharon who took time to call me couple times in the day to countercheck details and delivered on her promise to make the evening special.Finally, the surprise birthday cake on the house was an absolute delight. Great ambience, food and service. Brilliant 18th birthday memories. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a stunning boutique hotel in Nairobi. The Roms are spacious and well appointed. Service is outstanding, especially with the butler being at your beck-and-call. Only negative was that when we checked in we had numerous mosquitoes in the room. Staff were great and did come with spray to kill them all after we left the room for dinner. In addition the bed was drapped in mosquitoe netting, still a little unnerving.

The restaurant has excellent food, although the service could be a little better. I really enjoyed the gnocchi as well as the calamari.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent the day at Hemingways Nairobi in between our time on safari and the second part of our honeymoon on Zanzibar. We were given access to a suite for the day, which was very luxurious - large comfy king size bed, massive bathroom with walk in shower and a large terrace to enjoy the surroundings. Once we'd recharged our batteries, we went down to the reception for lunch and ordered some steaks, which were absolutely delicious. The service was great and the food mightily impressive.

Although we only spent the day there and not the night before our transit to Zanzibar, we were really impressed by Hemingways Nairobi and a little disappointed we weren't spending the night!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.