We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hemingways Hotel - the only place to stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Guelph
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hemingways Hotel - the only place to stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Hemingways incredibly welcoming after a long haul flight from Toronto. Even though I was beyond exhausted upon arrival, I couldn't help but notice the food, decor and staff . The decor is scrumptious in a Safari theme, but not over the top. It had me coveting every item in my room to take home. Normally the first night in a hotel I don't sleep well, but the bed was so comfy, it wasn't a problem. Every morsel of food I had was delicious and that is an understatement, taking the time to cater to my finicky allergies and sensitivities without the bat of an eyelash. The grounds are breathtaking beautiful as is the location. A welcome respite from the pandemonium of Nairobi city. My only problem was that I only had one night there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
48
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Visited with a colleague for dinner. The steak was very good but the service was so so. However, I must commend them for the ambiance and the atmosphere.They just need to fine tune on F and B.

By the way the lemon cheese cake was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Quite simply magical stay.

Amazing accommodation, food and attentive staff...nothing to fault - perfect.

Near elephant orphanage too :)

Wonderful experience which I'd recommend to anyway visiting the city - quite and away from the madness :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear ColinPayne

Thanks for the great feedback from your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Living locally to this hotel we have not stayed but have eaten at the restaurant and used the spa on several occasions since it opened. The food has always been excellent, particularly the "Crab & Prawn" evenings. The atmosphere in the spa is welcoming, very relaxing and the treatments of a first class standard. We would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Jan781947

It is fantastic that we are getting support from the local community. The Prawn and Crab menu has indeed been a resounding success; we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Awesome place and a great retreat and getaway for the weary traveller or hard working Nairobi people. It is one of those places you relax into as arrive at the lovely setting and gardens. The staff are attentive and professional and the food is superb, especially the squid and pomegranate. The spa is the best in Nairobi. Booking essential even in the off season !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear wyatt_jeremy

I am delighted you enjoy all Hemingways Nairobi has to offer and we are grateful for the support. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Hemingway, Nairobi was in an absolutely beautiful setting. Newly built with a excellent staff and food as well. It is well located in one of the more prestigious areas of Nairobi. It was extremely well appointed with a beautiful pool and lobby. This is a great place to begin your African journey.

Room Tip: Any room, as they have a limited number, would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This place is the worst. The management (especially in the spa) is terribly rude. The food is terrible, especially for the price. The atmosphere is stuffy and has a strange chlorine smell. I would recommend Talisman nearby for great food, the Sankara spa, and the Karen Blixen coffee cottages to stay. DO not got here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.