We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short, but lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Short, but lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our family only spent 1 evening in this lovely hotel on a "forced overnight" awaiting a flight the next early morning. We didn't get to try any of the hotel's food or amenities and didn't have time for breakfast (and it was too early to even think about a breakfast box). That being said...this is a 5-star accommodation. Our room was wonderfully comfortable (very much appreciated after 9 days on safari) with the most luxurious bedding, bathroom, and furniture/TV. Staff was perfect as well. The outside facility and grounds which we only briefly saw also looked wonderful. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    19
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
48
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice place in all .. beautiful country need to be known allover the world such a beauty of Africa in it ..I like this trip and everything about it .. All is great .. I wish to back again .. With my friends to show them they beauty of nature

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great reception in the beautiful lobby, lush gardens throughout the property, excellent service 24/7 they do whatever it takes to accommodate your every need and outstanding cuisine . The personal butler made for the perfect stay.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The variety in the brunch is just awesome! Went with a group of about 15 friends, and everyone was served well and to their fill. Great service, professional staff right from the security staff at the gate. We were a little noisy and took lots of photos (it was a farewell gig) and no one gave us the side eye. Will definitely recommend and go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Great reception, great Ambiance, wow the battlers, the Rooms are amazing with a magnificent view of the lawn. cool staff whom by day two would call you by your name. Cant wait to do the Hemingway's 3Hotel tour in Nov 2014.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Elvis M

We look forward to your next trip to all our fantastic properties. We are glad you enjoyed the service and all that Hemingways Nairobi has to offer.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are spending some time in Nairobi and want to spend some time visiting the sites in Karen then Hemmingways is a great option. Karen itself is lovely and away from the rush and traffic of downtown Natriobi. This can be a boon but if you need to be in the centre then travel can be an issue.

It is a new hotel with nice grounds and really nice rooms - the best Ive seen in Nairobi and in most other parts of the world. Each room is large and well appointed with a balcony overlooking the manicured lawns.

The bathroom was large and well arranged and the general standard of housekeeping and luxury could not be faulted.

Food was good also and the breakfast had good choice and was well presnted.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the lawns - they are quite spread out and some are far from the main lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Safaribuff

Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed Hemingways Nairobi

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel location is at a wonderfully quite and beautiful area. .. The wait staff at breakfast were very good and attentive to our needs ....

I would highly suggest this beautiful place to my couple friends..

The rooms were very clean and equipped with standard appliances... although in a hotel of such standers I would expect a hair dryer....

All in all its a beautiful place that deserves 5 ☆ ... I would definitely go back

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear nimpha

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay at Hemingways Nairobi and we look forward to a return visit.

Many thanks

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.