We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest have been so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Greatest have been so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Great reception, great Ambiance, wow the battlers, the Rooms are amazing with a magnificent view of the lawn. cool staff whom by day two would call you by your name. Cant wait to do the Hemingway's 3Hotel tour in Nov 2014.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Elvis M

We look forward to your next trip to all our fantastic properties. We are glad you enjoyed the service and all that Hemingways Nairobi has to offer.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    18
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
46
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are spending some time in Nairobi and want to spend some time visiting the sites in Karen then Hemmingways is a great option. Karen itself is lovely and away from the rush and traffic of downtown Natriobi. This can be a boon but if you need to be in the centre then travel can be an issue.

It is a new hotel with nice grounds and really nice rooms - the best Ive seen in Nairobi and in most other parts of the world. Each room is large and well appointed with a balcony overlooking the manicured lawns.

The bathroom was large and well arranged and the general standard of housekeeping and luxury could not be faulted.

Food was good also and the breakfast had good choice and was well presnted.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the lawns - they are quite spread out and some are far from the main lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Safaribuff

Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed Hemingways Nairobi

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel location is at a wonderfully quite and beautiful area. .. The wait staff at breakfast were very good and attentive to our needs ....

I would highly suggest this beautiful place to my couple friends..

The rooms were very clean and equipped with standard appliances... although in a hotel of such standers I would expect a hair dryer....

All in all its a beautiful place that deserves 5 ☆ ... I would definitely go back

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear nimpha

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay at Hemingways Nairobi and we look forward to a return visit.

Many thanks

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

First trip to the Spa centre at this very stylish Hemmingways Hotels today. A slice of calm and relaxation out of town from busy Nairobi. Loved every minute of the treatments I had. Staff were lovely. Prices competitive. And the small touches, like fresh fruit and herbal tea, just added up to a wonderful experience. A delicious lunch with the Ngong Hills in the background where Karen Blixen and Denis Finch-Hatton rode on horseback (or Meryl Streep and Robert Redford to you and me) just rounded it off. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Amazing hotel! Delicious food, very friendly staff and the rooms are amazing!! TV pops up from a steamer trunk from the old days! Very cool! Restoration Hardware decor. Beautiful! The grounds/landscaping is beautiful too. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

So was at Hemingways for one night, two days on a corporate retreat. Arrived early morn day 1 and check in was painless, and quick. Next meal was lunch, where they served a lousy buffet. Dinner was a la care, and I ordered the steak as did many others, having heard their steaks are good. The skinny piece of meat served to me was not a steak, but rather a hard offcut from some unknown animal. Never again! Breakfast day 2 was very good, and the buffet lunch had improved given we gave feedback about day 1.

The rooms are amazing, desserts are reasonable...service is very haphazard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear KulaRaha

As you rightly mention you stayed with us on a conference package that includes a buffet lunch, the menus are themed and pre-agreed with our guests before the event. As you expressed disappointment with your menu we changed the pre-ordered menu for the next day and I am glad you approved of it the next day.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hemingways is not the normal sort of place I stay at when I'm in East Africa - but in a really good way!

From the tall airy ceilings, the sloping manicured lawns, the tasteful aesthetic, and the amazing food to the tight security and unobtrusive but attentive staff, this was the nicest place I've ever been to for a 4-day development assistance workshop!

It's about 45 minutes to an hour from the airport, and essentially outside of Nairobi in the hills above it - which at the moment seems like a reasonable sort of way to be in Nairobi, but not IN Nairobi.

The area is named Karen, after Karen Blixen, the Danish author who wrote Out of Africa, and the hotel captures the sense of colonial Kenya of which her book is so redolent. There are black and white photos on the wall of Karen and others with all manner of animals, large colour painting posters of African savannah sunsets, and the whole building structure hearkens back to an earlier time. The question of whether that era should be lauded in this manner at this uneasy time in Kenya's history is an entirely different matter - the fact is, Hemingways does it, and they do it in style.

There is also a clever blending of a sense of this time gone by with lovely high-end technology; my favourite example is a UHD TV which springs out of a large leather trunk at the push of a button!

I didn't get to try either the pool or the gym (the pool looked lovely nestled amongst trees and fountains) but two other highlights - Wednesday night is steak night and they do AMAZING steaks, all cuts and from the best provenances (only minor criticism - constructive of course! - is that you do have to emphasise very clearly how you want your steak cooked - I'm a blue kinda guy, and the kitchen needed a couple of goes to get this right); and you get your own assigned butler, who will unpack and pack and iron and and and - again very un-PC, but VERY lovely.

So, should you go there - of course you should! Should you take a moment - or many moments - to think about what is happening outside of this lovely oasis? Up to what sort of person you are I guess, but life in Kenya is not all beer and skittles, as they say, and alot of the current dramas could be attributed to the very period this wonderful place harks back to.

Room Tip: get one on the ground floor - to be honest they're all awesome, but the ones on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.