We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accommodations, Somewhat Erratic Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice Accommodations, Somewhat Erratic Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed at Hemingways before and after a week in the Serengeti. Rooms were very nice and well furnished. Grounds were well kept and nicely manicured and food was very good. Service was somewhat inconsistent. It was very good on the arrival day stay but was botched on return visit - fruit setup in room was missing the fruit (by that I mean the napkins, cutlery, etc. were provided, but the fruit was missing- and never delivered). Housekeeping arrived to do the turn down service at 10pm- inappropriately late. Morning wakeup call was missed. Improving service consistency would make this a great place to stay,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear ajmia111

Thank you for your feedback and your repeat visit. It is much appreciated. We have noted your comments regarding the fruit, turndown and wake up call. Please accept my apologies for this and at the same time my assurance we will address this going forward to ensure your next stay with us will be as good as your very first one.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    24
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
57
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hemmingways certainly have high standards not only in all their staff, who are professional and very helpful, but also in their rooms and services. We had a great suite that had all the amenities and more. The bathroom cum in-built wardrobe is a real luxury as are the surroundings. A lush garden with greenery all around. The piece and quiet is something quite rare in big hotels and it was a real treat. The food is to die for, everything we had on the menu was delicious, well presented and made with love. Thank you Hemmingways for a beautiful time and experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear smatlock10

Thank you for your feedback; it is our great pleasure to have you return and we are delighted that as per your previous visit all aspects of your experience were of our usual high standard. Many thanks for your custom and we look forward to serving you next time.

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I am not sure why Hemingways was not on my list to visit as I pass it daily. I think it was the soulless look from the outside and the mixed (at best) reviews from friends and colleagues. I decided to give it a go. As a previous hotelier, I was hopeful. I like Hemingway's in Watamu. The service was very friendly, but excruciatingly slow. It took almost 40 mins for one coffee and a lemonade to arrive. The coffee was expensive for Karen, and not good. The milk was boiled and it was average at best. It was served with 3 very dry brownies. This was a quiet time in the afternoon. A manageress was walking around, but as usual for Kenya, no approach was made to any guests. I want to like this hotel, but please get some atmosphere in there, and work on the service and the product; you are charging five-star prices but not, sadly, delivering. I love that the complex is clean and fresh. The staff are lovely, just need direction, as does the kitchen and that comes from the top. I will go back and I'd love it if Hemingway's could look at this, as it comes up a lot in conversation with locals. I would have chatted to someone had I have been able to get someone's attention.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear bluecharlie

Thanks for the feedback. 40 minutes is certainly too long a wait; please accept my apologies for that. I am glad to hear you will be back and would be grateful if you would ask for me on your next visit for a chat?

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is one of of the new Hotels in Nairobi. Its location of Karen means that it is very quite and in a a very green environment surrounded by lots and lots of trees. We decided to go there for lunch one Sunday afternoon. It seems very popular as there was not many places left to sit. Eventually a waiter got us a place to sit and we got to ordering. At first glance a the menu, it all looks very interesting and appetizing. We proceeded to order our food. I ordered the Chicken tikka while my friend ordered a steak. The food came and the steak was ok which was a bit disappointing as we expected it to be better than ok. The taste was just ok and it was not particularly super tender just average in that regard. The chicken was small and the lentils that had been promised to be spicy in the menu and thus the accompanying raita, were not spicy at all. Infact the lentils were quite bland and I had to keep adding salt and pepper. The blandness of the lentils meant that the raita was of no use and I didn't actually touch it. The chicken was ok although it was smaller than expected. For what they charge for that meal, they should at least provide slightly larger chicken pieces. I have to say I was somewhat disappointed by the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mschana M

Thanks for your feedback. We have taken note of your views on the food; we pride ourselves on our reputation of having fantastic food in our brasserie restaurant. We will certainly investigate the dishes you have mentioned.

Perhaps you could let me know next time you are in?

Many thanks

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I visited you restaurant while is Nairobi And the Friday King Prawn was excellent, taste and well prepared the service from the waiters and presentation was awesome couldn't get any better, it was heavenly, the restaurant view was also perfect looking forward to book a room next time am in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Always order the prawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear henry k k

We are delighted you enjoyed your Prawn Friday visit. This special menu has become so popular that we have extended it to Saturday as well and your positive comments are proof of it's success. We certainly look forward to your next visit.

Many thanks

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had a chance to visit the hotel with my wife for the first and i was impressed by the Quality of service offered . We walked in without prior reservation and the service team ushered us in and In less than 10 minutes we were at our table and our waiter took us through the menu after which we placed our order.The steaks were classic , tender and prepared as per our specifications.

We enjoyed our meal at the Brasserie. The service was top class and the meal excellent and served in time. The manager on the floor did all there was to be done to ensure that nothing went wrong.

Thank you Eric, Sereti and Stephen for the memorable experience we will visit again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear William C

Many thanks for your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you too for your kind sentiments regarding the team that waited on you.

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spend two nights for a corporate event. The hotel architecture is fantastic and the rooms are very good with service at the rooms just as good. However, the restaurant and service during meal times is incredibly poor. The first night it took more than 45 minutes to get our meal and the order was all wrong. While waiting, despite asking (literally I counted) six times for a bottle of water and wine glasses, we got half the glasses and no water. The wine brought was the wrong one. The food was incorrect - we asked for a vegetarian pasta and a non-veg meal was brought with the waiter than asking us if it was okay! Unfortunately, breakfast and lunch the following day were no better with wrong items brought and really slow service.

Shame that the restaurant brings the whole place down quite a few notches.

Finally, whilst the grounds are extensive and could be very pleasant, I believe the water ponds aren't looked after as there is a constant stench near the still (and quite unpleasant) looking ponds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Njora

I am delighted that you enjoyed the rooms and butler service at Hemingways Nairobi during your stay.

I have noted with concern and regret the parts of your stay that fell short of your expectations; rest assured we are addressing these areas and we welcome you to visit us again to enjoy the same.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.