We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knew 5 Star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
minneapolis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Knew 5 Star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Lovely spacious lobby , very open and great views from the restaurant to the pool.
Our room was very spacious and comfortable with our own butler to answer any questions or help get whatever we needed , from extra coffee to offering us breakfast all packed for us before we left because of an early flight . Great stay will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    17
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
43
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Let me start by saying the décor and furnishings are impeccable. Beautiful and comfortable without being over bearing, pretentious and frou frou! Which is why with great pains I write this review. Your food is AWFUL!!!! Which in my estimation is an act of either gross negligence or self sabotage, basically completely unnecessary and unwarranted. I was there for New Year's Day 2014 and everything we ordered was over cooked, dull and tasteless:
1) Macaroni and cheese for kids was overcooked and tasteless. Note to management, macaroni and cheese should come with the consistency of a quiche i.e. baked in an oven not pasta swimming in milk and cheese sauce. My 7 year old is undiscriminating when it comes to Mac N Cheese but even she was turned off.
2) My mom ordered spaghetti bolognaise-completely tasteless and dull-who screws up even plain spaghetti bolognaise?
3) I ordered a steak-it was tough as nails.
4) we ordered a hamburger as take out for my husband-it was like sandpaper!

Hence my verdict must be harsh-please get a new chef!!!!! You are doing a great dis-service to yourselves as a beautifully fitted boutique hotel! I would like to spend Easter holiday at your hotel but I am turned off by your food so will have to pursue other alternatives in Nairobi which is a shame!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, E-Commerce Executive at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Prampram,

We apologize that you did not find our food to your liking. We are however at a disadvantage because you have sent this review three months after your experience. Be that that as it may, it will delight you to know that we have avidly reviewed our standards, and new measures including the sternest of quality assurance measures have been put in place to ensure the highest quality attainable.

We very much hope that you will consider staying with us again at Easter, which will give us the opportunity to show you our true food standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Gorgeous place to stay... we stayed in a suite complete with our own butler!!

The service, the location, the food, the room, the amenities are all beyond 5 star!! really makes you feel like you're back in the colonial era.... the furnishings and surroundings are impeccable!
Most definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, E-Commerce Executive at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Nabata,

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the birthday. Your recommendation is also very kind. We look forward to hosting you again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a beautifully landscaped hotel in a nice neighborhood. Our room was huge with a balcony facing the back of the hotel. The bathroom has a walk-in closet, two sinks, bathtub and shower. Breakfast was delicious. Service was very good and everyone was very friendly and accommodating. A great place to stay prior to our safari!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear RBon,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you found our hotel a worthy experience as we endeavour so hard to do. We look forward to hosting you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Although this new hotel in the Hemingways collection was built a mere 3 years ago, it's plantation-style architecture is reminiscent of Kenya's bygone colonial era and the image is reinforced through the decor, room furnishing and sepia tone prints depicting historical events and one can almost hear the British aristocracy "I say, I say'ing" in the background.

With 45, spacious 80 squared metre rooms, each with a private balcony overlooking sweeping lawns with the Ngong Hills visible beyond, this boutique hotel sets the standard in luxury accommodation for business travellers and safari tour groups visiting the region.

For carnivorous guests, Hemingways’ Brasserie serves the most succulent beef steaks, which are prepared in their Josper oven - this indoor barbecue is the only one of its kind in Kenya, specially imported by Hemingways to produce the best steaks sizzling at 800F. The special blend of charcoal used to fire the Josper oven creates a distinct char-grilled flavour to the meat, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

One night may well be insufficient to judge the quality of service, but I found the staff to be friendly and professional. Mosquitos do appear to be a problem, especially during dusk whilst sitting on the rooms balcony, but closing the doors with the air conditioner and mosquito pads on, ensured a bite-free nights rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Tourism Tattler<

Our Josper steaks are indeed a relish, as you found out. We are delighted that the plantation-style architecture caught your eye and you liked it. As with everything including service, we strive to give our guests something a little out of the ordinary and make memories that they can savour for a long time. You are most welcome for another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way to safaris. Yes, the room was beautiful, but filled with mosquitos. We swatted for 30 minutes inside the mosquito net. As we were 2 women staying for 2 nights, we requested extra shampoo for the second night. I was told that it was not possible to add more shampoo. When asked why I was told it was the hotel policy. In a 5 star hotel I would expect to get as much shampoo as I wanted. Very, very tacky. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has been sprayed before getting into bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear JO_Montreal_12

It is certainly not our policy to ration guest supplies.Please accept my apologies for not getting sufficient quantities of shampoo. We have reinforced the message to our team to ensure it does not re- occur.

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Poor service, overpriced restaurant, clueless manager, "250g steaks" not bigger than 150g, the chef has no idea how to cook meat, which is surprisingly (half the menu are steaks) more than average. To avoid if you are looking for value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Samy G

Thanks for your visit to Hemingways.

I can assure you that all our steaks are over the specified weight on the menu. In your case the 250g steak would be cut at 255g to 260g before cooking. Each and every steak is weighed in our butchery. As our manager explained to you all steaks undergo shrinkage whilst cooking; that is a natural process and it is a standard procedure to refer to the raw weight rather than the end result as the more the steak is cooked the more shrinkage occurs. For instance a medium well cooked fillet would have more shrinkage than a rare one.

In addition to the assurance of our manager regarding the steak weight we also gave a 50% discount on the meal as our gesture to you. Regardless of the past you are welcome to visit us again and we will be delighted to demonstrate the before and after cooking weights of the steaks as well as pricing compared to our competitor set.

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;