We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise upon arrival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise upon arrival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here on our way to and from Kenya on safari. We were pleasantly surprised by the decor and feel of the beautiful room. The only thing we weren't happy about were the amount of mosquitos present in our room, which we spent over an hour killing with bug spray or splatting them on walls or between hands. The other concern was the temperature of the room when we went to bed - we turned on the air con after we both woke up 2 hours after we went to bed soaked and sweating - the air con did not cool down the room enough so we did not sleep well before our early morning flight.

After our 7 day safari we stayed once again and both enjoyed swedish massages and LONG hot showers after not having them for a week!! Then dinner was great with a repeat of my short rib order which was not a disappointment.

Our room air con was better this time thanks to the butler service fixing it and the mozzies a bit less frequent in our room. Breakfast was very pleasant and the staff of the gift shop arranged to have the correct size of sandal for me before we left for our flight home. We were disappointed that we could not go to the elephant orphanage or visit the Karen Blixen home as we did not have time before our flight left for Abu Dhabi.

Beautiful decor - so much so that we took lots of pics to use to choose our furniture at home!
Very pleasant experience and would recommend and stay again if we had the chance.

Room Tip: loved our Lord Errol room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    18
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
46
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked the spa for a group of five. During booking we were given comprehensive information so we knew what to expect. We had either the hot stone or coffee scrub massages which were excellent. Kudos to the spa manager, the masseuses and Keith for the cocktails.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My Valentine's Day or rather evening was crowned by an evening of perfect company, fun, food, laughter and perfect service at this luxurious boutique hotel in Nairobi.

Tucked away in the leafy suburbs of Karen, Hemingways is definitely in a class of its own and completely deserves its Five Star status.

Being night time I could not quite see the hills but was told that all the hotel suites have beautiful views of the Ngong Hills.

Beautiful decor adorns the walls and corridors and open spaces throughout the hotel.The cuisine was wonderful. For a party of seven people to all enjoy whatever each person ordered is commendable to a hotel's kitchen, and truly none of us complained. Being all Kenyans, everyone ordered some form of meat or other.

The desserts were decadent.

One in the party of seven was also celebrating her birthday, and boy, did she enjoy being spoiled.

Just one observation though...being a Valentine's Day, I expected the Hotel to at least dish out red roses to all the ladies(including the workers), in the hotel but this did not happen. Maybe next time.

My next agenda will be to sample a night at this stunning hotel.

All in all, highly recommended for fine wining and dining.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here before and after going on Safari. The rooms were beautiful, the staff was great, and the food was good. I have stayed in many "five star" hotels from Vegas to Dubai and in between. This place has them beat when it comes to service and room decor! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Feeling of safety, security and Luxurious! Great entry into Kenya before or after safari. Gorgeous rooms, grounds, service, amenities. Quiet private estate like hotel. Beautiful views of the Ngong hills. Around the corner from the Blixen house ( imagine Robert Redford napping on the porch) and a short drive to the orphan elephant rescue, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. 33 baby elephants rescued after the moms were most often killed by poachers. Pool, spa, gym and unexpectedly a great place to bird. Eagles and ibis. Great verandas off of each room. Wonderful, unobtrusive staff. Stunning decor and finishes.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to spend two nights in Nairobi to overcome our jet lag prior to beginning our tented safari vacation. Located in the Karen neighborhood, this is a stunning boutique hotel on beautifully landscaped grounds viewing the Ngong Hills. We arrived shortly after midnight and were greeted warmly by the hotel manager and our butler. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at their restaurant and both meals were superb. Their service was outstanding. As an example, our luggage was going to exceed the weight limitation (33 pounds including carry on) for our small aircraft flights to the various camps. David Owalla, the front office manager, arranged to hold a piece of luggage and have it delivered to the airport when we were passing back through and the weight restrictions wouldn't be a concern. Getting it to our gate was not an easy proposition but David made it happen. We couldn't be happier with the accommodations or the service we received. We will surely stay at Hemingways when our travels bring us to Nairobi again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jerry M

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hemingways Nairobi. We always aim to please and go the extra mile. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very beautiful hotel in a perfect location but lunch service was very slow for a conference set up. Staff were not very welcoming but the food was delicious and handy doggy bags provided for take away. Very pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Wakesho,

“I am greatly concerned that your welcome fell short of your expectations. I would be delighted to discuss with you to understand exactly what went wrong. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel or on 0711032000. In the meantime please rest assured of our commitment to excelling and we are confident your next visit will be outstanding.”

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.