We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

After being a loyal customer of the Brasserie restaurant at this hotel, enjoying the steaks and writing a glowing review some months back...it is time for an update. A recent meal there was a long way from the experience I expected. The service was close to non-existent. Our starters turned up before our first drink order arrived and only then after flagging down a passing staff member! I was forced to ask three times for drinks to be refilled even though our assigned waiter walked past the table and it's empty glasses. The refills were needed often because a glass of wine here is really one third of a glass of wine. It seems like a glass of wine should be at least over the half-way mark. I ordered battered fish and chips. The batter on the fish was thick, soggy and more like a dough. The fish inside this dough-like substance was musty flavored and luke warm. Very disappointing. Hopefully this place can get back on track.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear MeandYu

Thankyou for your repeat visit to Hemingways Nairobi. I am truly disappointed your last visit was not up to par. It is very important to us to ensure every visit exceeds expectations. Please accept our apologies for this and give us an opportunity to re-assure you of our standards by visiting us at your convenience. Kindly ask for myself or the duty manager, we would be delighted to meet you in person.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    24
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
57
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver bc
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Being outside Nairobi makes for a peaceful environment. Very attractive hotel with lush gardens and lovely pool. Well appointed rooms and a great staff - very professional. Close to Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre, both of which are musts for visitors. Serve very good breakfast and dinner was also very good. ( a hint of quality is that locals dine there) They will pick you up at JKIA which can save the worry of arriving in a Third World city for an unseasoned traveller.

Room Tip: Try to stay at top of the hill - easier on the legs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Habari

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the brasserie restaurant at Hemingways Nairobi. We hope you will visit us again.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The experience at Hemmingways was AWESOME....... The peace and tranquility of the hotel is unmatched. The staff were friendly and super helpful. My Husband and I have never had such a relaxed weekend. Special Thanks to Johnson who was very helpful with our booking and the general stay.
We will definitely be back ....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear NdukuN

Thankyou for the feedback on your experience at Hemingways Nairobi. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hemingways is newly opened boutique hotel very close to our home. Since there are not many good quality options around Karen, the restaurant became one of our frequent stop where you can have a nice candle light dinner with tasty food and a good quality service. Highly recommend their jumbo shrimp from appetizer menu, one of the best shrimp I have eaten so far:)

However, lately I have noticed it is getting busier,hoping quality of the service will not drop, because in Kenya large volume of customer can become a headache from a management point.

I am also regular spa customer, it is nicely and professionaly managed, so far very clean, and always quite which I love about. You do not want to go to a busy spa, right? Spa alsa has infinity pool, strangely I have never seen anyone swimming.

Restaurant has also have a bar, very intimate place, never gets over crowded. Both lunch and dinner is also served outdoor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear WorldTravelerZV,

We highly appreciate your candid review. We are indeed getting busier but we would like to assure you that the quality of our services will not drop, if anything they will get even better and better.

Thank you for being a regular spa visitor and we hope to see you again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

What an impressive hotel. Location is stunning, great green views out towards Karen Blixen's famed Ngong Hill. Wonderful friendly and keen to help staff, rooms are clean comfortable and (an over used word but) opulent. Sadly we did not have time to eat in the evening or to explore the wine collection, but shall return for both!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side will i suspect enjoy better views of the Ngong Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear James,

Your warm compliments are much appreciated. Perhaps next time you visit you will have time to eat in the evening and even explore our extensive wine collection.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hemingways is brand new and like a breath of fresh air in Nairobi. With its tasteful, chic and luxurious rooms, fine dining and friendly staff, it's going to raise the bar. We absolutely loved huge room--the hotel is all suites. Our favorite was the television which rose up our of an orange travel trunk (think Hermes)--so cool. The bathroom was incredible too. Food was great...beautiful lobby and grounds, even a small gym and spa. This is a perfect place for couples, families or business trips.

Room Tip: Don't think twice, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear jamesk

So glad you enjoyed it and yes the TV is unique! Many thanks for your feedback; we hope you will visit again.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just a small note to thank you and your team for making our one year celebration very intimate and memorable.

Eli and I were just coming for dinner yesterday but on second thoughts decided to spend the night at only 2pm. I called Johnson in the reservations team and after letting him know our one year plans he was quick to get us a super executive suite at a discounted rate and ensured the room was well prepared for my arrival at 4pm. Eli and I were thoroughly impressed with the room and the service given by Enock and Godfrey the butlers. Always ensuring we were taken care of and they informed us very well on all the 'need to knows'. Kudos to the team.

My final stop was at the spa and Celestine my therapist was a gem in summary!

My conclusion is now hemmingways shall not be just my lunch plan but my home away from home plan.

Many thanks again for everything please do pass my sentiments to the team above... they are stars!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Ciku K

It was our pleasure to host you at Hemingways Nairobi for your anniversary and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Rest assured I have passed on your kind sentiments to the team.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.