We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience at Hemmingways..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience at Hemmingways..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The experience at Hemmingways was AWESOME....... The peace and tranquility of the hotel is unmatched. The staff were friendly and super helpful. My Husband and I have never had such a relaxed weekend. Special Thanks to Johnson who was very helpful with our booking and the general stay.
We will definitely be back ....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear NdukuN

Thankyou for the feedback on your experience at Hemingways Nairobi. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
36
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hemingways is newly opened boutique hotel very close to our home. Since there are not many good quality options around Karen, the restaurant became one of our frequent stop where you can have a nice candle light dinner with tasty food and a good quality service. Highly recommend their jumbo shrimp from appetizer menu, one of the best shrimp I have eaten so far:)

However, lately I have noticed it is getting busier,hoping quality of the service will not drop, because in Kenya large volume of customer can become a headache from a management point.

I am also regular spa customer, it is nicely and professionaly managed, so far very clean, and always quite which I love about. You do not want to go to a busy spa, right? Spa alsa has infinity pool, strangely I have never seen anyone swimming.

Restaurant has also have a bar, very intimate place, never gets over crowded. Both lunch and dinner is also served outdoor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear WorldTravelerZV,

We highly appreciate your candid review. We are indeed getting busier but we would like to assure you that the quality of our services will not drop, if anything they will get even better and better.

Thank you for being a regular spa visitor and we hope to see you again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

What an impressive hotel. Location is stunning, great green views out towards Karen Blixen's famed Ngong Hill. Wonderful friendly and keen to help staff, rooms are clean comfortable and (an over used word but) opulent. Sadly we did not have time to eat in the evening or to explore the wine collection, but shall return for both!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side will i suspect enjoy better views of the Ngong Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear James,

Your warm compliments are much appreciated. Perhaps next time you visit you will have time to eat in the evening and even explore our extensive wine collection.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hemingways is brand new and like a breath of fresh air in Nairobi. With its tasteful, chic and luxurious rooms, fine dining and friendly staff, it's going to raise the bar. We absolutely loved huge room--the hotel is all suites. Our favorite was the television which rose up our of an orange travel trunk (think Hermes)--so cool. The bathroom was incredible too. Food was great...beautiful lobby and grounds, even a small gym and spa. This is a perfect place for couples, families or business trips.

Room Tip: Don't think twice, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear jamesk

So glad you enjoyed it and yes the TV is unique! Many thanks for your feedback; we hope you will visit again.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just a small note to thank you and your team for making our one year celebration very intimate and memorable.

Eli and I were just coming for dinner yesterday but on second thoughts decided to spend the night at only 2pm. I called Johnson in the reservations team and after letting him know our one year plans he was quick to get us a super executive suite at a discounted rate and ensured the room was well prepared for my arrival at 4pm. Eli and I were thoroughly impressed with the room and the service given by Enock and Godfrey the butlers. Always ensuring we were taken care of and they informed us very well on all the 'need to knows'. Kudos to the team.

My final stop was at the spa and Celestine my therapist was a gem in summary!

My conclusion is now hemmingways shall not be just my lunch plan but my home away from home plan.

Many thanks again for everything please do pass my sentiments to the team above... they are stars!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Ciku K

It was our pleasure to host you at Hemingways Nairobi for your anniversary and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Rest assured I have passed on your kind sentiments to the team.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had a reservation elsewhere in Nairobi , but nightmare of business travellers they did not have one to match! So arrived at Hemingways tried and a little flustered after some frantic calls had got me a room there. Not my first stay so aware of the hotel and it's high standards . Tonight both the hotel and the staff worked their magic , very welcoming , great meal and comfortable room. Only problem was the five am departure, however once agin the staff showed their mettle and the hotels commitment to looking after their guests as they insisted they could get me coffee and toast really quick , which they did , as I should not leave without breakfast.

Faith in (some) hotels restored!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Chris,

We are elated that the Hemingways magic augered well with you and saved your day! Our personalized service will always be at hand to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Many thanks for staying with us.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This amazing exquisite property ticks all the boxes. The architecture is out of this world, so plush, so quaint, so clean, the finish is impeccable, super deluxe. The service is unbeatable. The staff all so very polite, courteous, in my opinion it even rates better than the FOUR SEASONS.
The suites are so deluxe, so luxurious, i felt so comfortable and enchanted, i was reluctant to leave! The manager David is so nice so helpful, so well mannered with excellent customer relations.
The food was very good and tasty and good quality. This hotel is located in the nicest chicest area of Nairobi, Karen land. The premises so lush, so romantic, green and lovely surroundings.
Will definitely go back with hubby. This hotel is definitely a must!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Shermine54

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return. In the mean time many thanks from the team at Hemingways Nairobi.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jovago.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.