We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the chaos of downtown Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Away from the chaos of downtown Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hemingways is brand new and like a breath of fresh air in Nairobi. With its tasteful, chic and luxurious rooms, fine dining and friendly staff, it's going to raise the bar. We absolutely loved huge room--the hotel is all suites. Our favorite was the television which rose up our of an orange travel trunk (think Hermes)--so cool. The bathroom was incredible too. Food was great...beautiful lobby and grounds, even a small gym and spa. This is a perfect place for couples, families or business trips.

Room Tip: Don't think twice, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear jamesk

So glad you enjoyed it and yes the TV is unique! Many thanks for your feedback; we hope you will visit again.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    28
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
64
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just a small note to thank you and your team for making our one year celebration very intimate and memorable.

Eli and I were just coming for dinner yesterday but on second thoughts decided to spend the night at only 2pm. I called Johnson in the reservations team and after letting him know our one year plans he was quick to get us a super executive suite at a discounted rate and ensured the room was well prepared for my arrival at 4pm. Eli and I were thoroughly impressed with the room and the service given by Enock and Godfrey the butlers. Always ensuring we were taken care of and they informed us very well on all the 'need to knows'. Kudos to the team.

My final stop was at the spa and Celestine my therapist was a gem in summary!

My conclusion is now hemmingways shall not be just my lunch plan but my home away from home plan.

Many thanks again for everything please do pass my sentiments to the team above... they are stars!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Ciku K

It was our pleasure to host you at Hemingways Nairobi for your anniversary and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Rest assured I have passed on your kind sentiments to the team.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had a reservation elsewhere in Nairobi , but nightmare of business travellers they did not have one to match! So arrived at Hemingways tried and a little flustered after some frantic calls had got me a room there. Not my first stay so aware of the hotel and it's high standards . Tonight both the hotel and the staff worked their magic , very welcoming , great meal and comfortable room. Only problem was the five am departure, however once agin the staff showed their mettle and the hotels commitment to looking after their guests as they insisted they could get me coffee and toast really quick , which they did , as I should not leave without breakfast.

Faith in (some) hotels restored!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Chris,

We are elated that the Hemingways magic augered well with you and saved your day! Our personalized service will always be at hand to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Many thanks for staying with us.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This amazing exquisite property ticks all the boxes. The architecture is out of this world, so plush, so quaint, so clean, the finish is impeccable, super deluxe. The service is unbeatable. The staff all so very polite, courteous, in my opinion it even rates better than the FOUR SEASONS.
The suites are so deluxe, so luxurious, i felt so comfortable and enchanted, i was reluctant to leave! The manager David is so nice so helpful, so well mannered with excellent customer relations.
The food was very good and tasty and good quality. This hotel is located in the nicest chicest area of Nairobi, Karen land. The premises so lush, so romantic, green and lovely surroundings.
Will definitely go back with hubby. This hotel is definitely a must!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Shermine54

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return. In the mean time many thanks from the team at Hemingways Nairobi.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel needs to be seen to be believed! We have visited some excellent hotels all over the world but this one, with its backdrop of Kenyan hills is the most memorable.
With the service and luxury you would expect from a Kensington hotel it is perhaps something the first time visitor to Kenya would not expect, however it has that genuine feel that some hotels in the Western World do not.
As boutique hotels go it matches anything you may find in London or Paris but they are unlikely to have a Giraffe Sanctuary around the corner. A hotel that provides an ideal stop over on the way to the beach or on Safari or even as a base for a city break. The restaurant is excellent and the chef provides dishes that would do any Michelin Starred restaurant proud.
Once again it is the staff that make this hotel even better, excellent professional friendly service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Skeggy,

As you have rightly put it, seeing is believing. We are thrilled that you saw, liked and believed. The hotel is conveniently tucked in close proximity to The Giraffe Center and other top attractions making it an ideal stop over, as you noted. We are continually striving to improve in all spheres and we are sure your next experience will be even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Bonjour, the reply of the manager to my comment dated 29 dec 2013 is not appropriate because if the hotel has a policy of reservation they shall announce it to the public. Also, in kenya it's not alowed by the traffic code to reverse from into a busy road since the hotel does not provide for turning space. Good neighbourhood is very important I must exclaim to the hotel management.
I shall contact the management outside Kenya to make them aware of management problems in Nairobi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear peter w

Hemingways is a Kenyan owned company. The owners are local residents; should you wish to contact them to pursue this matter please feel free to contact the hotel and we will facilitate direct communication for you.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A super posh place where you can make reservations to have a meal. Tuesday is half priced steak night, and the steak is delicious so that is a great opportunity to go experience the luxurious colonial legacy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
9.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
11.8 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#5 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.