We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mbagathi Ridge, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Excellent hotel in picturesque grounds. All rooms have balcony over looking the garden. Suite superbly equipped and lacking for nothing. Restaurant very good if slightly limited menu. Wi-fi actually works and TV reception and choice of channels also very good.

Bathroom also very well equipped and laid out. A luxurious place to relax on business or pleasure.

Staff friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon4188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kenya
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We're regulars at Hemingways and went again on Sunday for a birthday celebration, the food is excellent, the ambiance is super. The only thing they must do is serve the food more quickly once it gets to you, nice to have personal service but it takes time to get all the bits in front of you when you're 5 diners.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of dining with my husband at Hemingways on his birthday. The service was excellent and the food was great. Hemingways were even kind enough to offer my husband a complimentary chocolate cake to spice up the evening. Thanks to all who made it happen.

It's a pity it was raining heavily so we didn't get a chance to take a walk around the property to appreciate the serenity.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for privacy and class.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betty200810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hemingways for a practically one month while volunteering. The hotel is simply gorgeous and the balcony views are magical. The staff at Hemingways is by far the best service I have ever experienced (and I travel a ton). The staff became my second family and literally made me feel every day like I was coming home. The restaurant is amazing. I would encourage anyone who travels through Nairobi to stay at the Hemingways- you will not be disappointed. I call it a little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cpipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The grounds are truly beautiful and stunning. The rooms are amazing. Best of all is the amazing service from the staff at the hotel. Couldn't think of a more relaxing place in Nairobi at the moment. Truly spectacular.
David

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room to get a great view of the sunset on the Ngong Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've been to Hemingway's twice for dinner and both times I've been very impressed with the food and service. I've had the slow cooked beef each time and it is just mouth-wateringly good. Writing this review is tempting me to get in my car and drive over there for dinner right now. I would highly recommend dining at Hemingway's to anyone. The hotel and Brasserie have some questionable design choices, but that slow cooked beef makes up for any other flaws. It is THAT good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had seen Hemingways featured in a prominant luxury magazine in Australia and decided to book a special dinner at the restaurant before departing on safari.

After the recent Westgate Mall terrorism attacks, our group was cautious of travel as tourists (white) in Nairobi. We asked Hemingways if they could assist us with organising a transfer vehicle from our hotel in Hurlingham (another suburb in Nairobi) to dinner in Karen and back.

Hemingways offered us a rate of USD $250 for a group of 7 people to travel this distance (return). I asked if this was a normal rate and the hotel concierge at Hemingways assured me it was.

When we arrived in Nairobi we discovered that a more appropriate rate would be somewhere between USD $5-10 for our group transport.

We were outraged that Hemingways were so comfortable in ripping us off, taking unfair advantage of tourists on their first visit to Nairobi. Not only did they refuse to amend the bookings, they also hassled us to leave the restaurant early, requiring us to finish our dinner prematurely, because their 'driver' was tired and wanted to leave.

Absolutely unacceptable.

That said, the food was delicious - although the waitstaff were not very aware of the ingredients listed on the menu and should be more informed in future, given the luxury status of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jess M

Thanks for your feedback . With regard to the transfers; these were sub-contracted by us for you at your request and the price quoted to you prior to your acceptance. Additionally we organised for 2 vehicles with drivers to pick you up from your hotel 21km away and bring you to Karen, wait for you and take you back to your hotel hence the cost. Please be assured we have no intention to rip off tourists or anyone for that matter. May I point out that the rate you quote of $5-$10 would not get 8 people more than a stone's throw from your hotel let alone to Karen.

That said; I am glad you enjoyed your meal and hope you will visit us next time you are in Nairobi.

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.4 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
7.2 mi away
Palacina Residence & Suites
8.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Mbagathi Ridge, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways Nairobi is a modern day luxury boutique hotel located in Karen's residential area. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre it offers tranquillity and serenity as it is set in Karen's residential area with a magnificent view of the Ngong hills. If you are looking for a place to stay in Nairobi, for business or leisure, corporates or personal luxury travel, Hemingways Nairobi is the ideal choice. Accommodation in expansive rooms with vast, bright en-suite bathrooms are characteristic of our boutique hotel's wonderful sense of space and use of natural light. We have 45 high-ceilinged rooms, two of which are penthouse style Presidential Suites and 43 Junior Suites culminating in vaulted beams. Hemingways Nairobi offers dining facilities at the brasserie restaurant,conferencing facilities, banqueting and cocktail events. Hemingways Nairobi is rated as one of the best hotels in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing